Skip to main content

BUSINESS & LEADERSHIP: SUBJECT GUIDE: Primary Sources

Subject guide for School of Business & Leadership

What's a primary source?

Primary sources are original, uninterpreted information.  Scholars analyze primary sources in order to answer research questions. Examples of primary sources vary by discipline.

Examples in the humanities:

  • a novel
  • a painting
  • a theatre performance

Examples in the social sciences:

  • a political, social, or economic theory
  • a dataset
  • the results of an experiment published in a peer-reviewed journal

Example in the sciences:

  • the results of an experiment published in a peer-reviewed journal

Archives & Special Collections Hours

During the semester, drop in on the Archives & Special Collections (Collins Library, 2nd floor):

Tuesdays - Thursdays 11:00 AM to 3:00 PM

Other times are available by appointment, please contact archives@pugetsound.edu.

A small selection of digitized material from the Archives & Special Collections is available online 24/7.

Business Primary Sources

Puget Sound Archives & Special Collections, Business & Leadership

The Archives & Special Collections collects, preserves, and makes available primary source material documenting life at the University as well as collections representing regional, national and international issues.

A small selection of material is listed below, for additional sources, please contact archives@pugetsound.edu.

The Albert W. Bash Papers, 1890-1910, contain correspondence, maps, photographs and newspaper clippings documenting Bash's involvement in the development of a scheme to extend U.S. railway lines across the Pacific Ocean and on through mainland China between 1895 and 1912.  Bash was associated with the American China Development Company and the China Investment and Construction Company.

Need Help?

Ben Tucker
Social Sciences Librarian
btucker@pugetsound.edu
(253) 879-3667
Office Location: Library 142
Schedule an Appointment

For immediate assistance instant message with a librarian:
Ask a Librarian 24/7