Skip to main content

ENGLISH: SUBJECT GUIDE: Articles

Research starting points for English Studies

Featured Resource

The Explicator

E-Journal Collections

These e-journal collections provide access to many journals in the field of English Studies, but they are more limited in scope and coverage compared to a subject database like the MLA International Bibliography.  In most cases, it's better to search subject databases to identify articles, and then search the journal title in Primo to link to the materials in these e-journal collections.  However, if you are doing interdisciplinary research, JSTOR and Project Muse can be excellent databases to search because of their multidisciplinary focus.

 

Tipasa: Interlibrary Loan

If your article is not available at Collins Library, you've got another option to getting it. Use Tipasa, our interlibrary loan service.

Tipasa is linked to your library account so you'll need to log in to use it.

Once you are logged in, either go directly to Tipasa and manually enter the information, or, if you're using a database, look for a shortcut link to automatically fill out the form, like this:

Interlibrary Loan Link

Allow at least a week for the article to come. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with a link to follow as soon as it's arrived. If it's delivered in paper, you'll receive it right in your campus mailbox.

MLA International Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography is the key database for identifying scholarly books, essays, articles, and dissertations on modern (i.e., not ancient or Classical) literature. MLAIB and the other resources listed on this page can help you find important, timely, and authoritative critical discussions and appraisals of an author, text, or literary issue. Scholarly work in the following areas is indexed:

  • Literature in all languages, and from all areas of the world
  • Folklore
  • Linguistics
  • Literary theory and criticism
  • Teaching of writing at the college level
  • Dramatic arts (theatre, radio, film, television)
  • History of printing and publishing
  • Other areas and disciplines as they intersect with literature and language studies

Click the link below to begin your search with the advanced search option.

Literature Criticism Online

Literature Criticism Online

Literature Criticism Online includes overviews by topic (e.g., American autobiography; the Gothic novel; imperialism), author (e.g., Shakespeare; Henry James; Margaret Atwood; ), and work (e.g., Bleak House; Infinite Jest), as well as excerpts from articles, books, and essays written by scholars.  It is a very useful tool for discerning key trends in scholarly interpretation.  Each excerpt includes full bibliographic information so that you can track down the original sources.

Databases for Historical & Cultural Scholarship

What's a secondary source?

In secondary sources, authors analyze and interpret primary source materials. 

Secondary sources can be scholarly or popular.  Scholarly sources (sometimes called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" sources) are written by and for experts and typically include bibliographies and citations.  Popular sources are written for a general, non-expert audience and can be authored by anyone.

Additional Recommended Databases

Need Help?

This subject guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you.  If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Katy!


Katherine "Katy" Curtis, Humanities Librarian
email: kcurtis@pugetsound.edu
Schedule an appointment
tel: (253) 879-3672
office:  Collins Library 140

If you can't find Katy, remember there are several ways to get help with your research

And don't forget about the Ask a Librarian 24/7 service: Anytime, anywhere! This instant messaging reference service lets you chat with a librarian no matter what time it is. Puget Sound librarians can email you to follow up if you leave your email address.