Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections: Home

This guide details the Archives & Special Collections at the University of Puget Sound.

Collins Unbound

Learn more about what's going on in Collins Library!

Loading ...

Archives & Special Collections @ Collins Library

This guide is intended to serve as a starting point for Puget Sound students interested in using the Archives & Special Collections. The collections contain rare books, oral histories, artists' books, letters, diaries, photographs and other archival material.

The focus of this guide is mostly on the collections at Puget Sound.  A brief listing of primary sources at local institutions is listed on Other Archives and Special Collections.

Featured Resources

The Albert W. Bash Papers, 1890-1910

The Albert W. Bash Papers contain correspondence, maps, photographs, and newspaper clippings documenting Bash's involvement in the development of a scheme to extend U.S. railway lines across the Pacific Ocean and on through mainland China between 1895 and 1912. Bash was associated with the American China Development Company and the China Investment and Construction Company.

The Abby Williams Hill Papers, 1880s-1930s

The Abby Williams Hill Papers include diaries, letters, photographs, and papers documenting the life and work of a female painter and social activist in the early 20th century. was a landscape painter who worked primarily in the American West. Hill is best known for her commissioned works for the Great Northern and Northern Pacific railroads, which were exhibited at the St. Louis World's Fair in 1904 and the Lewis & Clark Exposition in Portland in 1905.

University of Puget Sound Ephemera Collection

The University of Puget Sound Ephemera include invitations, public announcements, programs, and advertising material for the University of Puget Sound.

Have Questions?

We welcome your inquiries! 

Please send questions, comments, and queries to archives@pugetsound.edu.

Want to learn more about the Archives & Special Collections?

Stay tuned to Collins Unbound blog for Thursday updates from the Archives & Special Collections or visit our Tumblr!