Skip to main content

SSI2-117: Coming Out! The Gay Liberation Movement: Write & Cite

Citing Sources

Citations are key to participating in the scholarly community. They are a way to converse with other scholars, but they also:

  • Give fair credit to others for their ideas, creations, and expressions.
  • Back up claims and statements.
  • Provide a way for an interested reader to learn more.
  • Support academic integrity.

Consult Citation Tools to learn more about different citation styles.  Collins Library also supports two knowledge management tools:  RefWorks and Zotero.

Sound Writing

CWLT Logo

Sound Writing is the official writing handbook on campus, written by student writing advisors and specifically tailored to the needs of Puget Sound students and their faculty.

In addition to supporting the development of successful academic writing skills, Sound Writing also includes sections on research methods, writing in the disciplines, and more.

The preliminary edition of Sound Writing provides help with three citation styles: MLA, APA, and Chicago (notes & bibliography).

Current Edition: August 2017

Get Help at CWLT

The Center for Writing, Learning and Teaching (CWLT), located in Howarth 109, offers students opportunities to get help on all aspects of the writing process.  Services include:

  • Writing Advisors who are selected through a rigorous application process and who are specially trained to help students get started on a paper, organize their thoughts, or improve their editing skills.
  • Peer Tutors in a wide range of subjects who are nominated by professors in their disciplines and who are specially trained to help students individually or in small groups.
  • Language Partners who work with multilingual students to help them navigate the conventions and quirks of academic English writing.
  • Academic Consultants who are specially trained to help students improve their time management skills, organization, study skills, and test-taking strategies.

APA Style Guides

You should always should check with your professor to make sure which citation style to use. See the Collins Library quick APA citation guide for examples of commonly used types of sources, or consult the full book.

Create a Personal RefWorks Account!

RefWorks is an online knowledge management, writing and collaboration tool designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

Current University of Puget Sound students, faculty and staff may set up a RefWorks account.  You will have access to your account for so long as Collins Library maintains its subscription, including after graduation.  Your RefWorks account includes 10GB of document storage, unlimited sharing inside and outside the institution, easy institution-wide sharing, phone and email tech support, training and more.

To create a RefWorks account:

  1. Go to http://refworks.proquest.com and click the “sign up” link.
  2. Fill in your information, making sure to use your University of Puget Sound email address (you can’t sign up with @yahoo.com, @gmail.com, etc.).  Using your institutional email address will help RefWorks know that you are entitled to an institutional account (with all the benefits mentioned above!).

Once you activate your account (you'll receive an email with a link to complete the registration process), you’ll get access immediately and can get started managing your research!

Need help with RefWorks?  Start with the extensive online help features, check out our guide to getting started or ask a librarian. 

Creating a Bibliography

You can easily create a bibliography from the All Documents area, any collection or your search results list.

Navigate to the collection you want to use (or All Documents area or run a search and select items) and click the Create bibliography icon

You can choose to create a bibliography for selected references or for all of the references in the collection (or in All Documents if that's the view you are in).

Next, search for your output style and select it.  Your formatted bibliography will be displayed in your browser for you to copy and paste into any word processing software.

To use a custom output style from your RefWorks account, click here.

Guides to Research and Writing

Additional Resources

There are several additional reliable and thorough guides to citation styles available online:

Need Help?

This subject guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you.  If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Katy!


Katherine "Katy" Curtis, Humanities Librarian
email: kcurtis@pugetsound.edu
Schedule an appointment
tel: (253) 879-3672
office:  Collins Library 140

If you can't find Katy, remember there are several ways to get help with your research

And don't forget about the Ask a Librarian 24/7 service: Anytime, anywhere! This instant messaging reference service lets you chat with a librarian no matter what time it is. Puget Sound librarians can email you to follow up if you leave your email address.