Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SSI2-129: Religion on the Border: Boundaries of Religion and Politics: Finding Scholarly Books & Articles

What's a secondary source?

In secondary sources, authors analyze and interpret primary source materials. 

Secondary sources can be scholarly or popular.  Scholarly sources (sometimes called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" sources) are written by and for experts and typically include bibliographies and citations.  Popular sources are written for a general, non-expert audience and can be authored by anyone.

Subject Databases

Subject databases are an integral part of the academic research process.  They focus on the scholarly output in a specific academic discipline or topic area.

Multidisciplinary Databases

The databases listed below are examples of multidisciplinary databases.  These can be especially good discovery tools when you aren't which academic disciplines are writing about your topic.

Database Search Tips

Always use the advanced search interface and some combination of the following techniques to increase the effectiveness of your searches:

Search Technique   What It Does
quotation marks Searches for exact phrase
Truncation (usually an *) Searches for all forms of a word
Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) Lets you broaden or narrow your search
Database thesaurus or index             Allows you to pinpoint the exact indexing terms the database uses

Search Primo

Spring 2020 Tips: 

Be sure to sign in to Primo to ensure access to electronic materials!

After running a search, use the facets on the right-hand side of the results page to limit to ebooks!