Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What's a secondary source?
In secondary sources, authors analyze and interpret primary source materials.
Secondary sources can be scholarly or popular. Scholarly sources (sometimes called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" sources) are written by and for experts and typically include bibliographies and citations. Popular sources are written for a general, non-expert audience and can be authored by anyone.
When starting your research, it's a good idea to search multidisciplinary databases as they help identify what scholars are writing about from different perspectives.
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Research Library (ProQuest)
Features the full text of a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers covering all academic subject areas.
Recommended Subject Database for Classics
A bibliography of scholarly work on classical antiquity published in any language, anywhere in the world.
Begin your search for scholarly articles and essays with this subject database. A subject index guides you through the most comprehensive selection of scholarly materials.
Additional Subject Databases
These subject databases may also prove useful for Classics.
A database for ancient history, classical philology, and archaeology, this is an international bibliographical index to monographs, journal articles, conference papers, essays in collections, and dissertations in many languages. It can be searched from 1990-present by subject, author, keyword, and/or publication.
Humanities International Complete
Access to Humanities International Complete will no longer be provided by the Collins Memorial Library after April 30, 2021.
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources covering all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Indexes material in the areas of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
Covers scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. It contains research published since 1940 including journals from many countries with content representing a variety of languages.
Literature Criticism Online
Literature Criticism Online includes overviews by topic (e.g., Roman historiography, Greek mythology), author (e.g., Sophocles, Ovid), and (e.g., The Trojan Women, The Aeneid), as well as excerpts from articles, books, and essays written by scholars. It is a very useful tool for discerning key trends in scholarly interpretation. Each excerpt includes full bibliographic information so that you can track down the original sources.
These e-journal collections provide access to many journals in the field of Classics, but they are limited in scope and coverage compared to subject databases. In most cases, it's better to search subject databases to identify articles.
Just remember, with JSTOR you aren't accessing the most current articles from a journal and you can only do keyword searching.
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Interdisciplinary database includes books and articles from scholarly publishers with focus on humanities and social science.