Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Examples of Stage History Books
Breaking the Rules: The Wooster Group by
Call Number: PN2277.N52 W667 1988
Publication Date: 1993
Through interviews and descriptions of methodology, Breaking the Rules captures the essence of major works by the internationally acclaimed avant-garde company.
Sources for orginal productions and revivals
David Mamet by
Call Number: PS3563.A4345 Z877 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Presents a complete picture of the critical responses to David Mamet's plays.
Peter Brook by
Call Number: PN2598.B69 H86 1995
Publication Date: 1995
Peter Brook is regarded as one of the most important and influential directors today. In this fascinating study, Albert Hunt and Geoffrey Reeves chronicle Brook's development beginning with his earliest productions and concluding with some of his most recent and innovative work.
Staging O'Neill by
Call Number: PS3529.N5 Z888 1988
Publication Date: 1988
Eugene O'Neill's most exciting experiments with stage direction and design took place in his plays produced between 1920 and 1934-from Beyond the Horizon to Days Without End. The impact of these experiments on the American theater was enormous, and in this book Ronald H. Wainscott critically examines the staging of these innovative works.
Production History Starting Points
Production history covers original and subsequent productions. Critics generally discuss:
- overall critical reception
- theatrical innovations
- director's approach
New York Times Historical Newspaper
Includes full page images of the New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and the New York Times (1857-2017).
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
London Times Digital Archive
Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th century through the early 21st century, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment, and advertising.
Los Angeles Times Historical Newspaper (1881-1996)
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of the Los Angeles Times newspaper.
New York Times (nytimes.com)
Full and unlimited access to all of the content on The New York Times web site. Users must register and log in. Once you’ve registered for an account, which you must do from within the campus network (i.e. on-campus), you may “log in” to that account from anywhere, anytime.
In order to register from off-campus you may utilize vDesk. Technology Services provides information on utilizing vDesk: https://www.pugetsound.edu/about/offices-services/technology-services/vdesk-2/
Once on the campus network, or connected to vDesk, to register go to: https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/
And search for "University of Puget Sound."
Click "Create Account" and complete the registration fields using your @pugetsound.edu email address.
If you have previously registered your email address on The NYT site, click the "Already have an account? Log in here" link just below the "Create Account" button.
Access to the nytimes.com is partially supported by a contribution from ASUPS.
Los Angeles Times
One of the largest metropolitan newspapers in the U.S. The Times' is the largest news gathering operation in California. Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly, giving access to top news stories, and detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Even such items as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed.
News & Newspapers (ProQuest)
Contains all of the news content provided to Puget Sound by ProQuest. Includes alternative, national, international, local and historical news.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Access to news, business, governmental and legal sources.
Provides cover-to-cover full text for national (U.S.) newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post and The Washington Times. The database also contains selective full text for regional (U.S.) newspapers. Also includes international news sources including The Times (London), The Toronto Star and others.
Catalog Search Tips:
- Do a subject search of the playwright, e.g., "Brecht, Bertolot 1898 1956 Stage History"
- Do a subject search of the theatre company, e.g., "Royal Court Theatre"
- Do a subject using the words "Theaters--Stage Setting and Scenery"
- Do a subject search using the words "Theater--Production and Direction"
- Do a subject search using a director or actor's name.
Magazines and Journals
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Provides indexing, abstracts and some full-text, for international periodicals. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
Contains full text periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. Also contains full text reference books, primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of photos, maps & flags.
Research Library (ProQuest)
Features the full text of a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers covering all academic subject areas.