Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Remember that it can be very helpful to change the dropdown scope menu from the default "Collins, Summit, & Articles, etc" to just "Collins" when searching for books.
Online encyclopedia: Gale Virtual Reference Library
You can search multiple online encyclopedias via Gale eBooks. Click the link below to be taken to the database. Use the top searchbox to enter your search term(s).
Provides full text online access to Gale electronic books, including encyclopedias and other reference resources.
Academic Search Ultimate
This database has both scholarly (sources that have been peer-reviewed and are academic in tone and content) and non-scholarly (also called 'popular) content, so be sure to pay careful attention to the type of publication that you've found.
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Other databases to search
Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is a large aggregated database of periodical content. It features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
A free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature from the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).