Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use these tertiary sources for finding general articles about the film's context.
What's a Tertiary Source?
Tertiary sources are excellent starting points! They consist of information synthesized from primary and secondary sources. Examples include:
- Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Fact books
- Indexes, abstracts, bibliographies used to locate primary and secondary sources
These resources give you succinct overviews of your topic, explain scholarly arguments, point out interesting questions, and refer you to especially key sources.
African American Studies Center (Oxford)
A collection of full text materials focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African and African American history and culture. Includes biographies, images, primary source documents with commentaries, maps, tables and charts, and thematic timelines.
Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Provides full text online access to Gale electronic books, including encyclopedias and other reference resources.
The social sciences platform for SAGE and CQ Press books, reference materials and other content.
Contains the complete texts of many Oxford companions, encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference titles in a fully indexed, cross-searchable database. Included in addition to articles are images, maps, timelines, bibliographies, photographs and much more.
Begin your search with one of the movie websites for quick facts and credits. Some sites also include selected reviews.