Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Write a five-page essay about your research question for a general audience.
- Use the “big six” questions that journalists rely on to thoroughly research a story. The six are: Who? What? When? Where? Why? and How?
- SUBMIT YOUR FIVE-PAGE ESSAY.
Writing for a General Audience
The lead, or the opening paragraph, of a popular press article should include the following:
- Gives the reader the most important information about the article
- Establishes the voice and direction of the article
- Captures the reader's attention and encourages the reader to go beyond the first paragraph
Types of Leads:
- Summary--giving who, what when, where, why, and how. Some summary leads focus on one or two elements of the story and save the others for later in the story.
- Anecdotal--using a story to illustrate a point. If you use this approach, specificity and concrete detail are essential and the broader significance of the anecdote should be explained within the first few sentences following the lead.
- Quotes--capturing the essence of the story.
- Question--asking a question of the reader
- Make your writing accessible to general readers by using direct and concise language.
- Use active voice to make your writing more interesting. Passive voice can sound dull.
- Use quotes to support your statements. An expert's voice adds credibility and an element of reality beyond the perspective of the writer.
- The paragraphs following the lead contain additional details, quotes from sources, statistics, background, or other information. These are added to the article in order of importance, so that the least important items are at the bottom.
- Anticipate what your audience knows and determine what they need to know.
- Avoid a conclusion that does little more than summarize the essay. Consider a conclusion that drives home a point.
Contains full text periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. Also contains full text reference books, primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of photos, maps & flags.
Focus is on ethnic area studies, and related arts, business, education, environment, history, journalism, political science and sociology news. Some Spanish language sources are available.
A full text database comprised of articles from alternative and independent press newspapers, magazines and journals.
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is a large aggregated database of periodical content. It features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Provides cover-to-cover full text for national (U.S.) newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post and The Washington Times. The database also contains selective full text for regional (U.S.) newspapers. Also includes international news sources including The Times (London), The Toronto Star and others.
Search the most recent U.S. news content, featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers.
New York Times (nytimes.com)
Full and unlimited access to all of the content on The New York Times web site. Users must register and log in. Once you’ve registered for an account, which you must do from within the campus network (i.e. on-campus), you may “log in” to that account from anywhere, anytime.
In order to register from off-campus you may utilize vDesk. Technology Services provides information on utilizing vDesk: https://www.pugetsound.edu/about/offices-services/technology-services/vdesk-2/
Once on the campus network, or connected to vDesk, to register go to: https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/
And search for "University of Puget Sound."
Click "Create Account" and complete the registration fields using your @pugetsound.edu email address.
If you have previously registered your email address on The NYT site, click the "Already have an account? Log in here" link just below the "Create Account" button.
Access to the nytimes.com is partially supported by a contribution from ASUPS.