Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 229: Introduction to Creative Nonfiction: Tacoma Sites & History

Researching Place

This page provides a (non-exhaustive!) list of links to government websites, tourism-focused websites, news publications based in Tacoma and the Puget Sound region, monuments and landmarks, historical societies, digital collections and more.

Researching a different location? Try looking up city websites, historical organizations, libraries, and digital collections in your area!

Government Sites, Libraries, Historical Organizations and more

Tacoma News

University of Puget Sound Archives & Special Collections

Interested in the history of the University of Puget Sound? Check out the following resources from Archives & Special Collections!

A small selection of digitized material from the Archives & Special Collections is available online 24/7. If you do not find what you are looking for, please contact us

Material available online includes:

Puget Sound Digital Collections, a selection of digitized material from the Archives & Special Collections.

A small selection of photographs from Puget Sound.

Puget Sound historical material - all of which is keyword searchable.

Archives & Special Collections Hours

Spring 2020 update:

The Archives & Special Collections is currently unable to host in-person researchers. If you need assistance or would like to set up a virtual appointment, please email us at archives@pugetsound.edu.

A small selection of digitized material from the Archives & Special Collections is available online 24/7.

Need Help?

This subject guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Katy!

Katy Curtis, Humanities Librarian
email: kcurtis@pugetsound.edu
Schedule an appointment
tel: (253) 879-3672
office: Collins Library 140

If you can't find Katy, remember there are several ways to get help with your research

For immediate assistance, connect to our 24/7 Ask a Librarian chat service.

Images of Tacoma and South Sound History

Books of Historic Photographs of Tacoma

Citing Images

Images must be cited like all other resources. If you use an image you did not create, you must provide a citation. Images should be cited in all cases, even if the image is very small, or in the public domain. The citation should be accessible in the context of the image's use (within a Powerpoint presentation, on a web page, in a paper, etc.).

Image citations should include the following information at a minimum:

  • Title
  • Creator name
  • Repository information (museum, library, or other owning institution)
  • Image source (database, website, book, postcard, vendor, etc.)
  • Date accessed

It is also useful to include date, culture, and rights information, if known.

Citations can be formatted according to the citation style you are using.