Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
writing about art
A Short Guide to Writing about Art by
Call Number: Reference (N7476 .B37 2011 )
Publication Date: 2010-01-03
Students are shown how to analyze pictures (drawings, paintings, photographs), sculptures and architecture, and are prepared with the tools they need to present their ideas through effective writing.
Looking and Writing by
Call Number: N5303 .W97
KEY TOPICS: Guidelines for the selection, analysis, and presentation of an image found in a museum or gallery setting or an on-line site form the core chapters of the book. Other chapters discuss the use of symbols, the cultural precepts of how we process visual information, suggestions for writing and proofreading an essay and the structure of a proper bibliography.
The Art of Writing about Art by
Call Number: N7475 .H83 2001
. THE ART OF WRITING ABOUT ART not only emphasizes skills in college-level composition, but also in verbalizing the experience of art-the historical, social, economic, and political forces that shape art and artists; art theory; and the interplay between artist and viewer.
Chicago Style and Citation Guides
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Call Number: Electronic Resource
The Chicago Manual of Style Online is completely searchable and easy to use, providing quick answers to your style and editing questions. The Q&A content is fully searchable along with the content of The Chicago Manual of Style. The Chicago Manual of Style Online also provides convenient Tools, such as sample forms, letters, and style sheets.
Want to know more about our citation tools? Check our web guide.
Sound Writing is the official writing handbook on campus, written by student writing advisors and specifically tailored to the needs of Puget Sound students and their faculty.
In addition to supporting the development of successful academic writing skills, Sound Writing also includes sections on research methods, writing in the disciplines, and more.
The preliminary edition of Sound Writing provides help with three citation styles: MLA, APA, and Chicago (notes & bibliography).
Current Edition: August 2017
Knowledge Management Tools
Collins Library supports two robust knowledge management tools:
RefWorks, an entirely web-based product; and
Zotero, an extension that lives in your browser.
Why should you use a knowledge management tool? There are both practical and more conceptual advantages:
- You can easily save bibliographic information about all of your sources in a single place
- You can generate bibliographies in dozens of citation styles
- You can organize and re-organize your sources to fit any project
- Over time, you will build a personal library of sources that will make it easier to reflect on and make connections between all of the research you have done for your separate classes, which is a key goal of a liberal arts education
- You will have developed an impressive bibliography that you can continue to consult and add to when you are in graduate or professional school or are in your first job after college