Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Art Online
Covers biographies, criticism, country surveys, artistic styles and movements, art forms, subject matter and iconography, and techniques.
Information is drawn from Grove Art, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Art Online (Oxford)
Covers all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. Includes the full text of 'The Dictionary of Art,' and gives users access to subject entries, biographies, bibliographic citations, image links and images contained within Grove Art Online, as well as entries and images from the 'Oxford Companion to Western Art,' the 'Concise Dictionary of Art Terms,' and 'Oxford’s Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.' Thematic timelines and learning resources are also included.
Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference covers many subjects, including art, architecture, and religion. Reference works such as the Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, the Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome, the Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture, and the Oxford Dictionary of Art, Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World, are a few of the many titles available.
Contains the complete texts of many Oxford companions, encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference titles in a fully indexed, cross-searchable database. Included in addition to articles are images, maps, timelines, bibliographies, photographs and much more.
Dumbarton Oaks is an important center for scholarship in Byzantine Studies and includes:
Selected volumes of the Dumbarton Oaks Papers are available through the Dumbarton Oaks website.
The library has hard copies of the Dumbarton Oaks Papers. They are shelved on the second floor, beginning with the call number DF503 D84. The Dumbarton Oaks Papers are available online through JSTOR, beginning in 1941, with an embargo of the most current two years.
Other Dumbarton Oaks publications may be shelved on different floors. Check Primo for exact location.
Reference resources are good starting points for research. They can provide an overview of a topic and suggest important works.Hard copies are located on the main floor, near the Information Desk.
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium by
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 1991
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium is a three-volume, comprehensive dictionary of Byzantine civilization. The first resource of its kind in the field, it features over 5,000 entries written by an international group of eminent Byzantinists covering all aspects of life in the Byzantine world. According to Alexander Kazhdan, editor-in-chief of the Dictionary: "Entries on patriarchy and emperors will coexist with entries on surgery and musical instruments. An entry on the cultivation of grain will not only be connected to entries on agriculture and its economics but on diet, the baking of bread, and the role of bread in this changing society." Major entries treat such topics as agriculture, art, literature, and politics, while shorter entries examine topics that relate to Byzantium such as the history of Kiev and personalities of ancient and biblical history. Each article is followed by a bibliography, and numerous maps, tables,architectural designs, and genealogies reinforce and clarify the text.
Encyclopedia of the Byzantine Empire by
Call Number: DF504.5 .L38 2004 Reference
Publication Date: 2004
The Middle Ages as they were lived in Eastern Europe are covered in this encyclopedia. An introduction provides an overview of the Byzantine Empire--what life was like, what people wore and ate, how families were formed and cared for, and how the so-called Eastern Empire differed from its Western counterpart. Over 1500 entries, from Adrianopolis to Zoe, embrace a broad range of topics. Illustrations include genealogies of Byzantine rulers, maps of the Empire at various stages, and photographs of Byzantine buildings and art. A pronunciation guide, a note about transliteration and spelling, genealogical charts, a chronology of emperors, a glossary, a suggested readings list, and an index are also included.
Late Antiquity by
Call Number: DE5 .L29 1999 Reference
Publication Date: 1999
The first book of its kind, this richly informative and comprehensive guide to the world of late antiquity offers the latest scholarship to the researcher along with great reading pleasure to the browser. In eleven comprehensive essays and in over 500 encyclopedic entries, an international cast of experts provides essential information and fresh perspectives on the history and culture of an era marked by the rise of two world religions, unprecedented political upheavals that remade the map of the known world, and the creation of art of enduring glory.
A Companion to Byzantium by
Call Number: DF552 .C63 2010
Publication Date: 2010
A Companion to Byzantium presents an overview of the Byzantine world from its inception in 330 A.D. to its fall to the Ottoman Turks in 1453. Provides an accessible overview of eleven centuries of Byzantine society Introduces the most recent scholarship that is transforming the field of Byzantine studies Emphasizes Byzantium's social and cultural history, as well as its material culture Explores traditional topics and themes through fresh perspectives
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity by
Call Number: BR162.2 .E53 1997 Reference
Publication Date: 1997
What's new in the Second Edition: -- Some 250 new entries -- 25% more than in the first edition. -- Bibliographies are greatly expanded and updated throughout -- More focus on biblical books and philosophical schools, their influence on early Christianity and their use by patristic writers -- More information about the Jewish and pagan environment of early Christianity -- Greatly enlarged coverage of the eastern expansion of the faith throughout Asia, including persons and literature -- More extensive treatment of saints, monasticism, worship practices, and modern scholars -- greater emphasis on social history and more theme articles -- More illustrations, maps, and plans -- Additional articles on geographical regions
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages by
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access.
Publication Date: 2010
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages is a major new reference resource for all key aspects of European history, society, religion, and culture from circa 500 CE to circa 1500 CE.
Medieval Islamic Civilization by
Call Number: DS36.85 .M434 2006, v.1-2, Print reference (first floor)
Publication Date: 2005
Covers Islamic civilization from 622 CE to the early eighteenth century.
Medieval Jewish Civilization by
Call Number: DS124 .M386 2003, Print reference (first floor)
Publication Date: 2002
Coverage is from the fall of the Roman Empire to about 1492.
New Catholic Encyclopedia by
Call Number: BX841 .N44 2003 Reference
Publication Date: 2002
The New Catholic Encyclopedia" has long been regarded as one of the best core references in use today by libraries and religious organizations around the world. The first revision in 30 years, the 15-volume Encyclopedia includes more than 12,000 entries from a wide breadth of concerns.
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography by
Call Number: N7560 .E53 1998 Reference
Publication Date: 1998-04-01
The Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography compares the uses of iconographic themes from mythology, the Bible and other sacred texts, literature, and popular culture in works of art through various periods, cultures, and genres.
Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World (Antiquity) by
Call Number: DE5 .N4813 Reference, vols. 1-15
Publication Date: 2002-2011
The fifteen volumes in this encyclopedia are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and covers two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe.
The Byzantine World by
Call Number: DF521 .B9365 2012
Publication Date: 2012-03-09
This publication presents the latest insights of the leading scholars in the fields of Byzantine studies, history, art and architectural history, literature, and theology.