Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias for French History & Culture
Print reference books are located on the first floor of Collins Library.
Encyclopedia of Modern French Thought by
Call Number: DC33.7 .E55 2004 Reference
Publication Date: 2004
This work covers not only philosophy, but also all the other major disciplines, including literary theory, sociology, linguistics, political thought, theology, and more.
Francoscopie 2030 by
Call Number: DC415 .M47 2018 Reference
Publication Date: 2018
Provides a fascinating compendium of demographic information and results of opinion polls on all aspects of contemporary French life (in French).
Encyclopédie de la Francophonie
The New Oxford Companion to Literature in French by
Call Number: PQ41 .N48 1995 Reference
Publication Date: 1995
Surveys literature in French from all over the world, identifying writers from many countries, intellectual and cultural movements, and literary and theatrical genres.
Guide to French Literature by
Call Number: PQ226 .L48 1992 v. 1-2 Reference
Publication Date: 1993
Surveys the lives and works of famous French writers from the roots of French literature to the present. Entries are devoted to the primary writers, with some entries on important movements, literary groups and publications.
The Feminist Encyclopedia of French Literature by
Call Number: PQ149 .F47 1999 Reference
Publication Date: 1999
Spans French literature from the Middle Ages to the present and covers writers who lived and worked mainly in France. The volume begins with a feminist history of French literature and concludes with a selected, general bibliography and a chronology of women writers.
Gale Contextual Encyclopedia of World Literature
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access
Publication Date: 2009
Covers world authors from many periods and genres, building a broad understanding of the various contexts--from the biographical to the literary to the historical--in which literature can be viewed.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
Oxford Dictionaries includes additional resources and tools for learning the French language, including an extensive library of letter templates, vocabulary games, and cultural information.
Fully searchable bilingual dictionaries and study materials that provide help with learning and using an expanding range of languages. Currently includes Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian and Spanish dictionaries.
French Language Resources
Le Grand Robert de la Langue Francaise by
Call Number: PC2625 .R552 2001 Reference
Publication Date: 2001
Over 80,000 words - the most extensive coverage of any French language dictionary today.
Pocket Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary by
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access
Publication Date: 2010
Authoritative and up-to-date, this fourth edition of the Pocket Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 120,000 translations of contemporary French and English.
Search the Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center is a full-text database of author biographies, selected literary criticism and reviews, and topic overviews. Some literary texts are also available. Use LRC and the other resources on this page to help you find background information, approach subjects that are new to you, or put a text or author in a larger perspective. Includes English and French-language materials.
Gale eBooks includes the full text of over 100 subject encyclopedias spanning multiple disciplines. It encompasses content relevant to several aspects of French Studies, including cinema, history, literature, food and culture, and the arts.
Country Information: France
Numerous statistics culled from the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, UNESCO, etc.
Portal for open government data from France.
What's a tertiary source?
Tertiary sources are excellent starting points! They consist of information synthesized from primary and secondary sources. Examples include:
- Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Fact books
- Indexes, abstracts, bibliographies used to locate primary and secondary sources
These resources give you succinct overviews of your topic, explain scholarly arguments, point out interesting questions, and refer you to especially key sources.
The Cambridge Histories series is an indispensable reference collection with over 300 titles spanning 15 subject areas, including literary studies. Each (often multi-volume) history provides a big-picture perspective of its subject, introduces readers to existing scholarship, and proposes new trends in the field.
Literary Theory & Criticism
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
A full-text searchable database of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats related persons and fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography.
Pro tip: don't rely on search alone! Browse the contents and topic list to get a better sense of which articles will be most helpful.
Additional Online Reference Resources
ABC CLIO eBooks
This eBook Collection contains encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides from ABC-CLIO, Greenwood Press, Libraries Unlimited, and Praeger.
Contains the full-text of several Gale reference works related to the study of literature, including Arts and Humanities through the Eras; The Literature of Autobiographical Narrative, and more.
Contains the full text of more than three dozen Oxford encyclopedias related to the study of literature and culture, and much, much more.
Poetry & Short Story Reference Center
A collection of full-text poetry, short stories, and supplemental content, as well as biographies and authoritative essays on such topics as poetic forms, movements and techniques.
Biography Reference Center
A collection of full-text biographies, including the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography.