Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What's a tertiary source?
Tertiary sources are excellent starting points! They consist of information synthesized from primary and secondary sources. Examples include:
- Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Fact books
- Indexes, abstracts, bibliographies used to locate primary and secondary sources
These resources give you succinct overviews of your topic, explain scholarly arguments, point out interesting questions, and refer you to especially key sources.
A great resource for finding background information about topics in the social sciences, including anthropology, psychology, political science, communication, education, gender studies, and more.
Authoritative full text encyclopedia articles from works such as Black Literature Criticism, Encyclopedia of African American Culture & History, Encyclopedia of Race and Racism, and more.
Contains the complete texts of many Oxford companions, encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference titles in a fully indexed, cross-searchable database. Included in addition to articles are images, maps, timelines, bibliographies, photographs and much more.
Recommended Starting Points: Subject Encyclopedias
Subject Encyclopedias are scholarly works written by experts on a variety of topics. The articles are typically longer and more detailed than general encyclopedias. The background information provides a good starting point as you begin the research process. Here are some of the ways a subject encyclopedia can help guide you:
- Understand the scope of the topic
- Suggest ideas for narrowing the topic
- Identify key concepts, terms, dates,and names
- List subject areas related to the topic
- Recommend sources for further exploration
Oxford African American Studies Center
A good starting point for finding information in reference sources, including Africana, Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895, Encyclopedia of African American History 1896 to Present, Black Women in America, African American National Biography, Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, Oxford Companion to Black British History, and selected articles from other sources.
African American Studies Center (Oxford)
A collection of full text materials focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African and African American history and culture. Includes biographies, images, primary source documents with commentaries, maps, tables and charts, and thematic timelines.
Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.
More Subject Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2005-12-16
This new set identifies and addresses broad themes critical to understanding the texture of the cultures, achievements, challenges, and promise of the 150 million people of African descent who live in North America, Central and South America, and the Caribbean. It is an authoritative and comprehensive information about Black history, figures, and accomplishments throughout the Americas now have a defining and current reference.
Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora by
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2008-07-29
The authoritative source for information on the people, places, and events of the African Diaspora, spanning five continents and five centuries.
Encyclopedia of Black Studies by
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2004-12-09
More than a chronicle of black culture or black people, this encyclopedia deals with the emergence and maturity of an intellectual field over the past four decades. Beginning with the protests at San Francisco State College in 1967 that led to the first degree-granting department of Black Studies, the field's rapid growth over time necessitates an authoritative account of the discipline.
Start your research with Primo