Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New Titles in Collins Library!
Listed here are just a few of the books that were added recently to the Collins Library collection. Use Primo Search to find many more titles available through the library.
The Cuba Reader: history, culture, politics by
Call Number: F1776 .C85 2019 Print Books
Publication Date: 2019
Tracking Cuban history from 1492 to the present, The Cuba Reader includes more than one hundred selections that present myriad perspectives on Cuba's history, culture, and politics.
Intersections of Race, Class, Gender and Nation in Fin-de-Siècle Spanish Literature and Culture by
Call Number: PQ6041 .I58 2017 Print Books
Publication Date: 2016
This volume focuses on intersections of race, class, gender, and nation in the formation of the fin-de-siècle Spanish and Spanish colonial subject, through a variety of genres and venues, namely the essay, the novel, the short story, theater, and zarzuelas.
Paradoxes of Stasis: literature, politics, and thought in Francoist Spain by
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access
Publication Date: 2019
Gajic argues that the combination of Francoism's long duration and the uncertainty surrounding its ending generated an undercurrent of restlessness in the regime's politics and culture. Engaging with a variety of genres-legal treatises, poetry, novels, essays, and memoir-Gajic examines the different responses to the underlying tensions of the Francoist era in the context of the regime's attempts at reform and consolidation and in relation to oppositional writers' critiques of Francoism's endurance.
Utopias in Latin America: past and present by
Call Number: HX806 .U775164 2019 Print Books
Publication Date: 2019
Each of the thirteen authors who participate to this collective volume address a particular case or specific aspect of Latin American utopianism from colonial times to the present day.
Call Numbers to Browse
If you're interested in a broad topic related to Hispanic Studies, or would like to browse for inspiration, try one of these Library of Congress call letters:
- DP: History of Spain and Portugal
- F 1201 to F 3799: Latin American history
- PQ 6001 to PQ 8929: Literature in Spanish
Books with the call letters DP and F are located on the second floor of the library; books beginning with the call letter P are located on the third floor.
Locations of print books:
New books are located in the Library lobby and are in call number order.
Print Reference books are on the first floor across from the Learning Commons area.
Book stacks: Consult the library map; look for location posters; or ask any staff member for help!
Using Library of Congress Subject Headings
Collins Library, like most academic libraries in the United States, uses Library of Congress Subject Headings to describe the content of books. If you are researching an author about whom much has been written, you can use Library of Congress Subject subheadings to help pinpoint your search.
Here are several examples of various ways of narrowing your search for books on Cervantes:
Cervantes Saavedra, Miguel de, 1547-1616 -- Criticism and interpretation
Cervantes Saavedra, Miguel de, 1547-1616 -- Technique
Cervantes Saavedra, Miguel de, 1547-1616 -- Characters -- Women
Cervantes Saavedra, Miguel de, -- 1547-1616. -- Don Quixote
Cervantes Saavedra, Miguel de, 1547-1616 -- Monsters in literature
Documentaries & Educational Films
Academic Video Online is a streaming video service, which provides access to a broad spectrum of educational and documentary content, spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
More Streaming Media
Films on Demand - Archival Films & Newsreels Collection
A collection of archival films and newsreels spanning the 1880s to the 21st century.
Films streamed on Kanopy are provided to the Puget Sound community for classroom and educational purposes only. Films that have been licensed for use by the University of Puget Sound are immediately available on the Kanopy platform. If a film has not been licensed for use, you may submit a Kanopy request form and the library will consider the request.
E-books in Collins Library are fully integrated into Primo Search!
Consult the e-books guide to find out more about finding and using our growing e-book collection.
Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative essay collections that synthesize the most important aspects of a topic. Each volume is edited by a leading scholar in the field and offers essays written by experts. Look for Companions on specific authors, genres, themes or movements, and time periods.
The Cambridge Companion to the Spanish Novel by The Cambridge Companion to the Spanish Novel presents the development of the modern Spanish novel from 1600 to the present. Drawing on the combined legacies of Don Quijote and the traditions of the picaresque novel, these essays focus on the question of invention and experiment, on what constitutes the singular features of evolving fictional forms. It examines how the novel articulates the relationships between history and fiction, high and popular culture, art and ideology, and gender and society. Contributors highlight the role played by historical events and cultural contexts in the elaboration of the Spanish novel, which often takes a self-conscious stance toward literary tradition. Topics covered include the regional novel, women writers, and film and literature. This companionable survey, which includes a chronology and guide to further reading, conveys a vivid sense of the innovative techniques of the Spanish novel and of the debates surrounding it.
Call Number: PQ6138 .C36 2003 Print Books
Publication Date: 2003
The Cambridge Companion to the Latin American Novel by The diverse countries of Latin America have produced a lively and ever evolving tradition of novels, many of which are read in translation all over the world. This Companion offers a broad overview of the novel's history and analyses in depth several representative works by, for example, Gabriel García Márquez, Machado de Assis, Isabel Allende and Mario Vargas Llosa. The essays collected here offer several entryways into the understanding and appreciation of the Latin American novel in Spanish-speaking America and Brazil. The volume conveys a real sense of the heterogeneity of Latin American literature, highlighting regions whose cultural and geopolitical particularities are often overlooked. Indispensable to students of Latin American or Hispanic studies and those interested in comparative literature and the development of the novel as genre, the Companion features a comprehensive bibliography and chronology and concludes with an essay about the success of Latin American novels in translation.
Call Number: PQ7082.N7 C36 2005 Print Books
Publication Date: 2005
The Cambridge Companion to Jorge Luis Borges by Jorge Luis Borges (1899-1986) was one of the great writers of the twentieth century and the most influential author in the Spanish language of modern times. He had a seminal influence on Latin American literature and a lasting impact on literary fiction in many other languages. However, Borges has been accessible in English only through a number of anthologies drawn mainly from his work of the 1940s and 1950s. The primary aim of this Companion is to provide a more comprehensive account of Borges's oeuvre and the evolution of his writing. It offers critical assessments by leading scholars of the poetry of his youth and the later poetry and fiction, as well as of the 'canonical' volumes of the middle years. Other chapters focus on key themes and interests, and on his influence in literary theory and translation studies.
Call Number: PQ7797.B635 Z63546 Print Books
Publication Date: 2013
The Cambridge Companion to Latin American Poetry by The Cambridge Companion to Latin American Poetry provides historical context on the evolution of the Latin American poetic tradition from the sixteenth century to the present day. It is organized into three parts. Part I provides a comprehensive, chronological survey of Latin American poetry and includes separate chapters on Colonial poetry, Romanticism/modernism, the avant-garde, conversational poetry, and contemporary poetry. Part II contains six succinct essays on the major figures Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz, Gabriela Mistral, César Vallejo, Pablo Neruda, Carlos Drummond de Andrade, and Octavio Paz. Part III analyses specific and distinctive trends within the poetic canon, including women's, LGBT, Quechua, Afro-Hispanic, Latino/a and New Media poetry. This Companion also contains a guide to further reading as well as an essay on the best English translations of Latin American poetry. It will be a key resource for students and instructors of Latin American literature and poetry.
Call Number: PQ7082.P7 C23 2018 Print Books
Publication Date: 2018