Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HISPANIC STUDIES (SPANISH): SUBJECT GUIDE: Articles

Research starting points for Hispanic Studies

E-Journal Collections

These e-journal collections provide access to many journals in the field of Hispanic Studies, but they are more limited in scope and coverage compared to a subject database like Fuente Academica or the MLA International Bibliography.  In most cases, it's better to search subject databases to identify articles, and then search the journal title in Primo to link to the materials in these e-journal collections. However, if you are doing interdisciplinary research, JSTOR and Project Muse can be excellent databases to search because of their multidisciplinary focus.

Key Resource

Fuente Academica

Fuente Academica is a unique collection of scholarly academic journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. The database provides full text coverage for more than 500 scholarly Spanish language journals.

Search the MLA International Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography indexes all aspects of literary and language studies. Search this database to find books, essays and articles on Hispanic literature, language, folklore, and film.

Gale Literature Criticism Online

Gale Literature Criticism includes overviews as well as excerpts from articles, books, and essays written by scholars and full-text literary criticism. It is a very useful tool for discerning key trends in scholarly interpretation. Use this database to find reviews and scholarly treatments of Hispanic authors, works, periods, and themes. Each record includes full bibliographic information so that you can track down the original sources.

Additional Databases

Depending on your needs, you may also wish to explore some of these databases.

What's a secondary source?

In secondary sources, authors analyze and interpret primary source materials. 

Secondary sources can be scholarly or popular.  Scholarly sources (sometimes called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" sources) are written by and for experts and typically include bibliographies and citations.  Popular sources are written for a general, non-expert audience and can be authored by anyone.

How to Search for Spanish Language Material in Databases

Depending on the database, there are a few strategies to find resources written in Spanish:

You can:

  • conduct your search in English and then, once you have a list of results, click on the Search Options and then from the Language list, select Spanish. 
  • search using Spanish search terms.
  • locate the Thesaurus or Subject Terms and appropriate Spanish terms.

Be aware of databases that auto correct Spanish words to similar English words.

Tipasa: Interlibrary Loan

Tipasa logo

If your article is not available at Collins Library, you've got another option for getting it. Use Tipasa, our interlibrary loan service.

Tipasa is linked to your library account so you'll need to log in to use it.

Once you are logged in, either go directly to Tipasa and manually enter the information, or, if you're using a database, look for a shortcut link to automatically fill out the form, like this:

Interlibrary Loan Link

Allow at least a week for the article to come. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with a link to follow as soon as it's arrived.

Need Help?

This subject guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Katy!

Katy Curtis, Humanities Librarian
email: kcurtis@pugetsound.edu
Schedule an appointment
tel: (253) 879-3672
office: Collins Library 140

If you can't find Katy, remember there are several ways to get help with your research

For immediate assistance, connect to our 24/7 Ask a Librarian chat service.