Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These e-journal collections provide access to many journals in the field of Asian Studies, but they are limited in scope and coverage compared to subject databases. In most cases, it's better to search subject databases to identify articles, and then use Primo Search to access the materials in these e-journal collections.
JSTOR is an online archive of select scholarly journals. Because it is an archive, current content from journals is not included. The "embargo" on current content ranges from one to ten years, depending on the journal.
Project Muse provides full-text access to journals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage of journals typically begins in the late 1990s or later.
Europa World Plus
Europa World Plus Online
Online version of the Europa World Yearbook, covering political and economic information from over 250 countries and territories. Includes comparative statistical information, directories and maps.
The online version of the Europa World Year Book and the Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. The Yearbook covers political and economic information for more than 250 countries and territories, while the Surveys provide in-depth, expert analysis at the regional, sub-regional and country level.
Recommended Subject Database for Asian Studies
From the Association for Asian Studies the database contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. The BAS includes citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings and anthologies.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
Interdisciplinary Databases (The Big Ones)
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is a large aggregated database of periodical content. It features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest)
Provides access to multiple databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from many important social science journals
Search Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts covers all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present. Use this database to find articles, essays and books on Asian history.
What's a secondary source?
In secondary sources, authors analyze and interpret primary source materials.
Secondary sources can be scholarly or popular. Scholarly sources (sometimes called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" sources) are written by and for experts and typically include bibliographies and citations. Popular sources are written for a general, non-expert audience and can be authored by anyone.