Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GERMAN STUDIES: SUBJECT GUIDE: Getting Started

Research starting points for German Studies

Subject Encyclopedias for German History & Culture

Print reference books are located on the first floor of Collins Library.

Literary Encyclopedias

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online

Oxford DictionariesOxford Dictionaries includes additional resources and tools for learning the German language, including an extensive library of letter templates, vocabulary games, and cultural information.

German Language Resources

Search the Literature Resource Center

Literature Resource Center

Literature Resource Center is a full-text database of author biographies, selected literary criticism and reviews, and topic overviews. Some literary texts are also available. Use LRC and the other resources on this page to help you find background information, approach subjects that are new to you, or put a text or author in a larger perspective. 

Gale eBooks

Gale eBooks

Gale eBooks includes the full text of over 100 subject encyclopedias spanning multiple disciplines. It encompasses content relevant to several aspects of German Studies, including cinema, history, literature, food and culture, and the arts.

Country Information: Germany

What's a tertiary source?

Tertiary sources are excellent starting points!  They consist of information synthesized from primary and secondary sources.  Examples include:

  • Almanacs
  • Chronologies
  • Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
  • Directories
  • Fact books
  • Guidebooks
  • Indexes, abstracts, bibliographies used to locate primary and secondary sources
  • Manuals
  • Textbooks

These resources give you succinct overviews of your topic, explain scholarly arguments, point out interesting questions, and refer you to especially key sources. 

Cambridge Histories

The Cambridge Histories series is an indispensable reference collection with over 300 titles spanning 15 subject areas, including literary studies. Each (often multi-volume) history provides a big-picture perspective of its subject, introduces readers to existing scholarship, and proposes new trends in the field. 

Literary Theory & Criticism

Additional Online Reference Resources

Need Help?

This subject guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Katy!

Katy Curtis, Humanities Librarian
email: kcurtis@pugetsound.edu
Schedule an appointment
tel: (253) 879-3672
office: Collins Library 140

If you can't find Katy, remember there are several ways to get help with your research

For immediate assistance, connect to our 24/7 Ask a Librarian chat service.