Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES: SUBJECT GUIDE: Primary Sources

Starting points for research in Latin American Studies.

Spanish Language Films

Collins Library has a growing collection of Spanish-language cinema on DVD and through streaming video platforms. You can also request DVDs from SUMMIT and other libraries via ILL.

Search by the film's title, by the author/creator, or do a keyword search on your topic in Primo Search to see which films are available.

            

 

Spanish-language Current Newspapers & Magazines

Proceso magazine

Collins Library subscribes to the print format of some popular Spanish-language magazines. Past issues are located downstairs in the periodical collection, organized alphabetically by title.

The magazine collection includes:

  • Proceso
  • Cuadernos Americanos

Primary Sources in Latin American Studies

What you will use as primary sources in Latin American Studies will depend on the context of your assignment:

  • An assignment on some aspect of Latin American civilization could use art or film as primary sources. 
  • An assignment for a Spanish literature class would use literary texts as primary sources. 
  • A class on contemporary popular Latin American culture could use current magazines or newspapers.

Enjoy exploring the various resources on this page!

ARTstor & Latin American Studies

Artstor logo

Visual materials, including images, are examples of primary sources. There are many image collections in ARTstor that are pertinent to Latin American Studies, including the Latin American Studies featured group which highlights content related to "the history and culture of Latin America, including images of works of art and architecture, from traditional forms to contemporary works, as well as photographs of historical events and figures."

Learn more about ARTstor collections relevant to Languages and Literature and Latin American Studies.

Puget Sound Archives & Special Collections, Latin American Studies

The Archives & Special Collections collects, preserves, and makes available primary source material documenting life at the University as well as collections representing regional, national and international issues.

A small selection of material is listed below, for additional sources, please contact archives@pugetsound.edu.

Civil Marriage Agreements, 1773-1778, this collection contains four original, mostly handwritten documents from Mexico pertaining to civil marriage arrangements.

Selected Digital Collections and Primary Sources Online

Biblioteca virtual Miguel de Cervantes

Other digital libraries:

What's a primary source?

Primary sources are original, uninterpreted information.  Scholars analyze primary sources in order to answer research questions. Examples of primary sources vary by discipline.

Examples in the humanities:

  • a novel
  • a painting
  • a theatre performance

Examples in the social sciences:

  • a political, social, or economic theory
  • a dataset
  • the results of an experiment published in a peer-reviewed journal

Example in the sciences:

  • the results of an experiment published in a peer-reviewed journal

Archives & Special Collections Hours

Spring 2020 update:

The Archives & Special Collections is currently unable to host in-person researchers. If you need assistance or would like to set up a virtual appointment, please email us at archives@pugetsound.edu.

A small selection of digitized material from the Archives & Special Collections is available online 24/7.

Need Help?

This subject guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Katy!

Katy Curtis, Humanities Librarian
email: kcurtis@pugetsound.edu
Schedule an appointment
tel: (253) 879-3672
office: Collins Library 140

If you can't find Katy, remember there are several ways to get help with your research

For immediate assistance, connect to our 24/7 Ask a Librarian chat service.