Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New Titles in Collins Library!
Listed here are just a few of the books that were added recently to the Collins Library collection. Search Primo Search to find many more titles available through the library.
LANIC - Latin American Network Information Center
Based at the University of Texas at Austin LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
From the Library of Congress, the Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars.
COHA - Council on Hemispheric Affairs
Founded in 1975, the Council is a nonprofit, tax-exempt independent research and information organization, established to promote the common interests of the hemisphere, raise the visibility of regional affairs and increase the importance of the inter-American relationship, as well as encourage the formulation of rational and constructive U.S. policies towards Latin America.
WOLA - Washington Office on Latin America
Founded in 1974 by a coalition of civil society and religious leaders with the objective of promoting respect for human rights, democracy and social and economic justice as definitive elements of U.S. policy towards Latin America and the Caribbean.
Call Numbers to Browse
If you're interested in a broad topic in Latin American Studies, or would like to browse for inspiration, try one of these Library of Congress call letters:
- F 1201-3799 Latin America. Spanish America
- F 1201-1392 Mexico
- F 1421-1440 Central America
- F 2201-3799 South America
- G 1-922 Geography (General)
- G 1535-1537 Caribbean area
- G 1540-1542 Latin America (General)
- G 1545-1549 Mexico
- G 1550-(1594) Central America
- JL 1-3899 Political institutions and public administration
- JL 599.5-839 West Indies. Caribbean Area
- JL 1200-1299 Mexico
- JL 1400-1679 Central America
- JL 1850-3899 South America
- PQ 6001-PQ 8929 Literature in Spanish
Locations of books
New books are located in the Library lobby and are in call number order.
Print Reference books are on the first floor across from the Learning Commons area.
Book stacks: Consult the library map; look for location posters; or ask any staff member for help!
Documentaries & Educational Films
Academic Video Online is a streaming video service, which provides access to a broad spectrum of educational and documentary content, spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Latin America in Video
Gives researchers of Latin American studies, Spanish, and Portuguese a comprehensive and unique perspective on the region. The first of its kind, the collection’s materials are presented in their original language with abstracts and indexing in Spanish, Portuguese, and English.
More Streaming Media
Kanopy and Films on Demand are streaming video services which provide access to a broad spectrum of educational and documentary content.
Films on Demand - Archival Films & Newsreels Collection
A collection of archival films and newsreels spanning the 1880s to the 21st century.
Films streamed on Kanopy are provided to the Puget Sound community for classroom and educational purposes only. Films that have been licensed for use by the University of Puget Sound are immediately available on the Kanopy platform. If a film has not been licensed for use, you may submit a Kanopy request form and the library will consider the request.
E-books in Collins Library are fully integrated into Primo Search!
Consult the e-books guide to find out more about finding and using our growing e-book collection.
Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative essay collections that synthesize the most important aspects of a topic. Each volume is edited by a leading scholar in the field and offers essays written by experts. Look for Companions on specific authors, genres, themes or movements, and time periods.
The Cambridge Companion to Modern Latin American Culture by The term Latin America refers to the Portuguese and Spanish-speaking states created in the early 1820s following the wars of independence, states that differed enormously in geographical and demographical scale, ethnic composition and economic resources, yet shared distinct historical and cultural traits. Specially-commissioned essays by leading experts explore the unity and diversity of the region's cultural expressions. These essays analyse history and politics from the nineteenth century to the present day and consider the heritage of pre-Columbian and Colonial Latin America. There is a particular focus on narrative as well as on poetry, art and architecture, music, cinema, theatre, and broader issues of popular culture. A final chapter looks at the strong and rapidly expanding influence of latino/a culture in the United States. A chronology and guides to further reading are included, making this volume an invaluable introduction to the rich and varied culture of modern Latin America.
Call Number: F1408.3 .C283 2004 Print Books
Publication Date: 2004
The Cambridge Companion to the Latin American Novel by The diverse countries of Latin America have produced a lively and ever evolving tradition of novels, many of which are read in translation all over the world. This Companion offers a broad overview of the novel's history and analyses in depth several representative works by, for example, Gabriel García Márquez, Machado de Assis, Isabel Allende and Mario Vargas Llosa. The essays collected here offer several entryways into the understanding and appreciation of the Latin American novel in Spanish-speaking America and Brazil. The volume conveys a real sense of the heterogeneity of Latin American literature, highlighting regions whose cultural and geopolitical particularities are often overlooked. Indispensable to students of Latin American or Hispanic studies and those interested in comparative literature and the development of the novel as genre, the Companion features a comprehensive bibliography and chronology and concludes with an essay about the success of Latin American novels in translation.
Call Number: PQ7082.N7 C36 2005 Print Books
Publication Date: 2005
The Cambridge Companion to Latin American Poetry by The Cambridge Companion to Latin American Poetry provides historical context on the evolution of the Latin American poetic tradition from the sixteenth century to the present day. It is organized into three parts. Part I provides a comprehensive, chronological survey of Latin American poetry and includes separate chapters on Colonial poetry, Romanticism/modernism, the avant-garde, conversational poetry, and contemporary poetry. Part II contains six succinct essays on the major figures Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz, Gabriela Mistral, César Vallejo, Pablo Neruda, Carlos Drummond de Andrade, and Octavio Paz. Part III analyses specific and distinctive trends within the poetic canon, including women's, LGBT, Quechua, Afro-Hispanic, Latino/a and New Media poetry. This Companion also contains a guide to further reading as well as an essay on the best English translations of Latin American poetry. It will be a key resource for students and instructors of Latin American literature and poetry.
Call Number: PQ7082.P7 C23 2018 Print Books
Publication Date: 2018