Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GEOLOGY: SUBJECT GUIDE: Articles

Use this guide to get started with your geology research!

Key Database: GeoRef

GeoRef provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. Contains references to over 25,000 sources, including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. This database provides abstracts and then links out to the full text, so be sure to use the 'Check for full text availability' button!

Additional Geology Resources

Google Scholar Cited Reference Search

Google Scholar can be a helpful search tool as well. A particularly useful feature of Google Scholar is its ability to allow for easily finding articles which have cited an article that you have found. 

Step 1: When looking at search results, check for the 'Cited by X' link underneath each result. That will tell you how many subsequent articles have cited this particular article.  

  • Step 2: Click that link, and you will be taken to a new set of results, all of which have cited the original article, which will still be listed at the top of the page. 

What's a secondary source?

In secondary sources, authors analyze and interpret primary source materials. 

Secondary sources can be scholarly or popular.  Scholarly sources (sometimes called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" sources) are written by and for experts and typically include bibliographies and citations.  Popular sources are written for a general, non-expert audience and can be authored by anyone.

Need Help?

 Stuck? Need Help? Don't hesitate to contact Eli!

Eli Gandour-Rood, Science Librarian
egandourrood@pugetsound.edu

tel: (253) 879-3678

Click Here to Schedule an Appointment!