Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Additional Resources for Searching the Physics Literature
Academic Search Premier
This is a multi-disciplinary database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. It's a good place to find some scholarly math articles, and many popular mathematics articles.
This database from the American Institute of Physics (AIP) does not provide access to full text articles, but is a way of finding citations and abstracts which you can then use Primo Search to track down!
Click the link to search for full-text research articles in physics and many sub-disciplines! Click ' find' next to each discipline to search by author, title or keyword.
arXiv, founded in 1991 and maintained by the Cornell University Libraries, is an electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology and statistics. Users can retrieve papers from arXiv via the web interface.
Google Scholar Cited Reference Search
One very useful feature of Google Scholar is its ability to allow for easily finding subsequent articles which have cited a particular article that you have located.
Step 1: When looking at search results, check for the 'Cited by X' link underneath each result. That will tell you how many subsequent articles (that Google Scholar is aware of...it's not 100% comprehensive! This is a ballpark figure) have cited this particular article.
- Step 2: Click that link, and you will be taken to a new set of results, all of which have cited the original article, which will still be listed at the top of the page.
What's a secondary source?
In secondary sources, authors analyze and interpret primary source materials.
Secondary sources can be scholarly or popular. Scholarly sources (sometimes called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" sources) are written by and for experts and typically include bibliographies and citations. Popular sources are written for a general, non-expert audience and can be authored by anyone.