Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Environmental Organizations and Associations
Association for Environmental Studies & Sciences
The Association for Environmental Studies and Sciences (AESS) is an independent faculty-and-student-based professional association in higher education, designed to serve the needs of environmental scholars and scientists who value interdisciplinary approaches to research, teaching, and problem-solving. Founded in 2008, the Association seeks to provide its members with the latest environmental information and tools to create better courses, strengthen research, develop more satisfying careers, harness the power of a collective voice for the profession, and enjoy each other’s company at national and regional meetings.
National Association of Environmental Professionals
NAEP is the multi-disciplinary association for professionals dedicated to the advancement of the environmental professions
American Association for the Advancement of Science
The American Association for the Advancement of Science, "Triple A-S" (AAAS), is an international non-profit organization dedicated to advancing science around the world by serving as an educator, leader, spokesperson and professional association. In addition to organizing membership activities, AAAS publishes the journal Science, as well as many scientific newsletters, books and reports, and spearheads programs that raise the bar of understanding for science worldwide.
Online Resources for Environmental Policy & Decision Making
Collins Library provides access to many resources for ENVR research, but there are also a huge variety of free online web sites available for everything from serious research to satisfying curiosity to making art. Just a small portion are collected here. Send me an email if you have a suggestion of a web site to add to this page!
Environmental Policy & Decision Making Online Learning Tools
EnviroAtlas provides interactive tools and resources for exploring the benefits people receive from nature or "ecosystem goods and services".
US Dept of Energy - Renewable Energy
The Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (EERE) accelerates development and facilitates deployment of energy efficiency and renewable energy technologies and market-based solutions that strengthen U.S. energy security, environmental quality, and economic vitality.
United Nations Environmental Research Guide
Introduction to major conferences, reports, treaties, and bodies of the UN which relate to the environment and sustainability.
Kyoto Protocol to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change
Initially framed in 1997, it called for individual, legally-binding targets to limit or reduce greenhouse gas emissions. Protracted negotiations delayed ratification; entered into force Feb. 2005. The U.S. has not ratified.
Science Images Online
NOAA Photo Library
The NOAA Photo Library has been built so as to capture the work, observations, and studies that are carried on by the scientists, engineers, commissioned officers, and administrative personnel that make up this complex and scientifically diverse agency
A searchable directory of images, visualizations, and animations to the Earth from the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA).
Freshwater & Marine Image Bank
The Freshwater and Marine Image Bank is a digital collection of images related to freshwater and marine topics, in all their diversity. It includes images of fish, shellfish, and marine mammals, pictures of fish hatcheries and dams and vessels, materials related to polar exploration, regional and traditional fisheries, and limnological (freshwater) subjects. Its scope is global.
U.S Fish & Wildlife National Digital Library
The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service’s National Digital Library is a searchable collection of selected images, historical artifacts, audio clips, publications, and video, most of which are in the public domain. Those not in the public domain are intended for personal, private use.
BugwoodImages provides an easily accessible archive of high quality images for use in educational applications. It is made up of four major website interfaces. These are ForestryImages, IPMImages, InsectImages, and Invasive.org. The focus of BugwoodImages is on species of economic concern. Images cover invasive species, forestry, agriculture, integrated pest management, plants, insects, diseases, fungi, wildlife, fire and other natural resource issues. Images are reviewed for content and quality.