Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Resources for Exercise Science
Collins Library provides access to many resources for exercise science research, but there are also a huge variety of free online web sites available for everything from serious research to satisfying curiosity to making art. Just a small portion are collected here. Send me an email if you have a suggestion of a web site to add to this page!
UPS Women's Basketball Team 1912-1913, via A Sound Past
Exercise Science Organizations and Associations
American College of Sports Medicine
The largest sports medicine and exercise science organization in the world!
Association for Applied Sports Psychology
Founded in 1986, the Association for Applied Sport Psychology (AASP) promotes the development of science and ethical practice in the field of sport psychology. AASP is an international, multidisciplinary, professional organization that offers certification to qualified professionals in the field of sport, exercise, and health psychology.
American Society of Biomechanics
The American Society of Biomechanics (ASB) was founded in 1977 to encourage and foster the exchange of information and ideas among biomechanists working in different disciplines and fields of application, biological sciences, exercise and sports science, health sciences, ergonomics and human factors, and engineering and applied science, and to facilitate the development of biomechanics as a basic and applied science.
Exercise Science Online Learning Tools
Nutrient Data Laboratory
Includes searchable USDA nutrient database via the US Dept of Agriculture.
Muscle Physiology Home Page
The muscle physiology laboratory is dedicated to the education and training of students via scientific research. Provides information and references about the physiology of the human neuromuscular system.
CDC National Center for Health Statistics
The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. Search and browse for health statistics, everything from growth charts of american children since 1977 to lightning strikes.
CDC Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity & Obesity
CDC's Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Obesity (DNPAO) is working to implement policy and environmental strategies to make healthy eating and active living accessible and affordable for everyone.
Exercise Science Online Resources
MedLine Plus: Sports Fitness
Aimed at consumers and the general public, Medline Plus is a portal to a huge collection of sport and exercise related Internet resources that cover everything from the latest research news, hot topics in sports training, exercise statistics, etc.
National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA)
The NSCA focuses on the practical application of research to improve athletic performance. This web site provides links to its publications, free training videos, educational materials, and additional resources.
Gatorade Sports Science Institute: Sports Science Center
Includes Sports Science Exchange which reviews the literature for topics in exercise science and nutrition
Quackwatch: Your Guide to Quackery, Health Fraud, and Intelligent Decisions
Tips for spotting and avoiding healthcare fraud! A bit dated (much of the material is from the mid-2000s) but useful nonetheless.
Physics of Sports
From the University of Washington Physics Department, a series of levtures about the physics of sports.
Women's Sports Foundation
Founded in 1974 by tennis legend, Billie Jean King, the Women's Sports Foundation is dedicated to advancing the lives of girls and women through sports and physical activity.