Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PHYSICAL THERAPY: SUBJECT GUIDE: Articles

Use this guide to get started with your physical therapy research!

Additional Databases

Subject Specific Databases

Key Database: PubMed

undefinedPubMed is your go-to source for searching the medical literature. Bookmark this link to access PubMed: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/?otool=wacmllib  

(PubMed is available to anyone, but not all articles found through PubMed are openly accessible. By using this link, you will be shown a small blue and white 'Check for full text' button on article results pages which will connect you back to the University of Puget Sound to check for full-text access through Collins Library!)  

Key Database: CINAHL

CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health, covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Includes the same interface and features as SportDiscus. Click here or use the box below to search. 

CINAHL

Searching Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be a powerful search tool. See below for tips about using Google Scholar to do cited reference searching, or for searching Google Scholar from off-campus.

Google Scholar Cited Reference Search

Another useful feature of Google Scholar is its ability to allow for easily finding articles which have cited an article that you have found. 

Step 1: When looking at search results, check for the 'Cited by X' link underneath each result. That will tell you how many subsequent articles (that Google Scholar is aware of...it's not 100% comprehensive! This is a ballpark figure) have cited this particular article.

  • Step 2: Click that link, and you will be taken to a new set of results, all of which have cited the original article, which will still be listed at the top of the page. 

Google Scholar Library Links

Google Scholar can be a powerful search tool, but it can be inconsistent in its coverage, so it is best if used for supplemental research. There are two features to be aware of when using Google Scholar. The first is to be sure to set up your preferences in Google Scholar to access articles online that are available at Collins Library!

  • Step 1 On the Google Scholar page, click on the small 'Settings' icon at the top of the screen. 

  • Step 2: Choose 'library links' from the options on the left hand side, then type 'Puget Sound' into the search box.

 

  • Step 3: When the results appear, click the check boxes next to the three options that include 'Univ of Puget Sound' or 'University of Puget Sound' in the title. 

  • Step 4: Conduct a search, and look for the links that say 'viewitAPugetSound' on the right hand side next to results. Click those links to check Primo Search for access to the articles!