Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Physical Therapy Organizations and Associations
American Physical Therapy Association
APTA is an individual membership professional organization representing more than 85,000 member physical therapists, physical therapist assistants, and students.
Physical Therapy Association of Washington
State chapter of the APTA, dedicated to advancing the physical therapy profession in the state of Washington through compassion, accountability, representation and excellence.
Foundation for Physical Therapy
Established in 1979, the Foundation supports the physical therapy profession’s research needs in scientific research, clinical research, and health services research.
Physical Therapy Online Resources
Washington DOH Physical Therapy Licensure
Information from the Washington State Dept of Health about the WA State Board of Physical Therapy, and the license process.
National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA)
The NSCA focuses on the practical application of research to improve athletic performance. This web site provides links to its publications, free training videos, educational materials, and additional resources.
CDC National Center on Birth Defects & Developmental Disabilities
The Center works to: Identify the causes of birth defects and developmental disabilities; Help children to develop and reach their full potential; and Promote health and well-being among people of all ages with disabilities, including blood disorders.
Consumer health information from the NIH and National Library of Medicine.
SafetyLit provides abstracts of reports from researchers who work in the more than 30 professional disciplines relevant to preventing unintentional injuries, violence, and self-harm.
Online Resources for Physical Therapy
Collins Library provides access to many resources for physical therapy research, but there are also a huge variety of free online websites available for everything from serious research to satisfying curiosity to making art. Just a small portion are collected here. Send me an email if you have a suggestion of a website to add to this page!
UPS Women's Basketball Team 1912-1913, via A Sound Past
Physical Therapy Online Learning Tools
Database of International Rehabilitation Research
Looking for research about rehabilitation conducted outside the USA? Look for citations in this database, maintained by SUNY Buffalo.
National Rehabilitation Information Center
REHABDATA, produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 80,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present.
CDC National Center for Health Statistics
The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. Search and browse for health statistics, everything from growth charts of american children since 1977 to lightning strikes.
AbleData provides objective information about assistive technology products and rehabilitation equipment.