Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biology Professional Organizations and Associations
American Association for the Advancement of Science
The American Association for the Advancement of Science, "Triple A-S" (AAAS), is an international non-profit organization dedicated to advancing science around the world by serving as an educator, leader, spokesperson and professional association. In addition to organizing membership activities, AAAS publishes the journal Science, as well as many scientific newsletters, books and reports, and spearheads programs that raise the bar of understanding for science worldwide.
American Society for Cell Biology
ASCB is an inclusive, international community of biologists studying the cell, the fundamental unit of life.
American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
The American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) is a nonprofit scientific and educational organization with over 12,000 members. Founded in 1906, the Society is based in Rockville, Maryland. The Society's purpose is to advance the science of biochemistry and molecular biology through publication of scientific and educational journals.
American Society for Microbiology
The ASM is the world's largest scientific society of individuals interested in the microbiological sciences. The mission of the American Society for Microbiology is to advance the microbiological sciences as a vehicle for understanding life processes and to apply and communicate this knowledge for the improvement of health and environmental and economic well being worldwide.
Plant and Botanical Sites
PLANTS Database from the USDA
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
Plant Information Online
Use Plant Information Online to discover sources in North American nurseries for plants, find citations to plants in science and garden literature, link to selected websites for images and regional information about plants, and access information on North American seed and nursery firms. Plant Information Online is a free service of the University of Minnesota Libraries.
Swingle Plant Anatomy Reference Collection
The Plant Anatomy Digital Archive features over 1,700 images from more than 250 species of plants collected from all over the world. The images are digitized micrographs of parts of plants that were sectioned, stained, and permanently mounted to a glass slide. via the University of Miami
Washington Native Plant Society
Great source for information about the native plants of Washington State, including plant lists, wildflower guides, and photo galleries.
The Plant List
Working list of all known plant species, created in collaboration by the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew and Missouri Botanical Garden.
Online Resources for Biology
Collins Library provides access to many resources for biology research, but there are also a huge variety of free online web sites available for everything from serious research to satisfying curiosity to making art. Just a small portion are collected here. Send me an email if you have a suggestion of a web site to add to this page!
Douglas fir cones, via ForestryImages.org
Biology Online Learning Tools
EnviroAtlas provides interactive tools and resources for exploring the benefits people receive from nature or "ecosystem goods and services".
MIT Online Courses in Biology
Free undergraduate and graduate-level online courses in biology from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
United Nations Environmental Research Guide
Introduction to major conferences, reports, treaties, and bodies of the UN which relate to the environment and sustainability.
Science Images & Media Online
The Western Soundscape Archive offers thousands of recordings of Western animal species and their environments.
Macaulay Library Wildlife Sounds and Videos
From Cornell University, the world's largest archive of wildlife sounds and videos.
Freshwater & Marine Image Bank
The Freshwater and Marine Image Bank is a digital collection of images related to freshwater and marine topics, in all their diversity. It includes images of fish, shellfish, and marine mammals, pictures of fish hatcheries and dams and vessels, materials related to polar exploration, regional and traditional fisheries, and limnological (freshwater) subjects. Its scope is global.
U.S Fish & Wildlife National Digital Library
The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service’s National Digital Library is a searchable collection of selected images, historical artifacts, audio clips, publications, and video, most of which are in the public domain. Those not in the public domain are intended for personal, private use.
BugwoodImages provides an easily accessible archive of high quality images for use in educational applications. It is made up of four major website interfaces. These are ForestryImages, IPMImages, InsectImages, and Invasive.org. The focus of BugwoodImages is on species of economic concern. Images cover invasive species, forestry, agriculture, integrated pest management, plants, insects, diseases, fungi, wildlife, fire and other natural resource issues. Images are reviewed for content and quality.