Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Accessibility and Accommodation in the Library: Accessible Resources

This guide describes library services and accommodations for users with invisible and visible disabilities.

Search Databases for Articles

Most databases meet accessibility standards. They may offer screen readers as well as provide the capability of downloading html or pdf files. You can find general information about accessibility features on their help screens. 

Databases are available off-campus. Use the subject and course guides to find relevant databases for your research.

Selected Databases

Academic Search Premier & Other EBSCO Databases:  A multidisciplinary database

  • For full text documents in html, there is a text to speech feature. Look for this link:. You can also download the article as an MP3 file.
  • EBSCO began providing its scanned PDFs with an Optical Character Reader (OCR) text layer in September 2004.
     

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Provides full text access to over 100 encyclopedias and other electronic reference sources from a variety of publishers

  • This collection of electronic reference sources has a listen feature. When viewing in text mode, an audio player  reads aloud the first 190,000 characters. The listen feature is also available for dictionary definitions and help pages.
  • A document can also be downloaded in MP3 format.
  • The pdf version of the document has a magnifying tool to enlarge the text.

 

Research Library

A multidisciplinary database

  • Most of the content is available in PDF format. Some PDFs have been created from scanned text and are therefore accessible to screen readers.
  • However, a large proportion of our older content, as well as content provided by third-party publishers, was created from scanned images of original text. Text in the images is not accessible to screen readers. This content is identified throughout  with the label 'Scanned image PDF.'

HathiTrust Accessible Text Request Service

HathiTrust aims to provide a website that is accessible to everyone. Their full Accessibility Statement is available here.

Accessible Text Request Service

HathiTrust offers an Accessible Text Request Service to users who are affiliated with our campus. Through this service, users who are blind or print disabled can request copies of copyrighted books, which are listed as "limited (search-only)" in the HathiTrust Digital Library Collection. Please contact hrobbeloth@pugetsound.edu for questions about this service, and for requests for copyrighted books. 

Google Scholar

When using Google Scholar to locate accessible texts, set up your library links to get article-level links to subscription full text  affiliated with the UPS library. This program works best for electronic resources, such as journal and conference articles.

Search Primo for Books and More!

Ebooks

The libray subscribes to a number of ebook collections. Most are presented in formats that are intended for viewing in a browser on a computer. They typically allow you to enlarge the text and provide text to speech capability.

To find ebooks, search Primo. Click on the drop down menu to the right of the search box  and choose ebooks (see example below).  Only items owned by the University of Puget Sound Library may be viewed.

 

Streaming Video Service

Films on Demand is a streaming video services with closed captioning and interactive transcripts for selective films

  • To find closed captioning, do an advanced search and select the checkbox Show only On Demand closed-captioned programs. Enter a search term in the Advanced Search box and/or select additional Advanced Search options.
  • Interactive transcripts are available for many videos in Films On Demand. Interactive Transcripts allow you to view the full text of the video, search within the full text, or click on any word in the transcript to jump to that exact point in the video. On the View Video page, if a title has an Interactive Transcript available, the Full Title tab will be replaced with the Transcript tab in the box to the right of the video player.

Accessibility Statements