Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GENDER & QUEER STUDIES: SUBJECT GUIDE: Primary Sources

Starting points for research in Gender Studies.

Primary Sources: Subject Collections

Magazines

Ms. Magazine

Popular publications can provide insight for your research through news reporting, reviews, opinion pieces, illustrations, and advertising. Print issues are located downstairs in the periodical collection, organized alphabetically by title.

News Databases

Primary Sources in Gender & Queer Studies

Primary sources in Gender & Queer Studies will vary depending on the course and research assignment given.

  • In art courses the original art studied is a primary source.
  • In literature and film courses the films, novels, poems, and other original texts are primary sources.
  • In history courses, historical documents such as photographs or newspaper stories are examples of primary sources.
  • In social science courses data, such as demographic statistics, are primary sources.

Enjoy exploring the various resources on this page!

Archives of Sexuality & Gender

Archives of Sexuality and Gender logo

Including:  
LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I
LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II
Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century

LGBT Thought & Culture

LGBT Thought and Culture database logo

Puget Sound Archives & Special Collections, Gender Studies

The Archives & Special Collections collects, preserves, and makes available primary source material documenting life at the University as well as collections representing regional, national and international issues.

The Abby Williams Hill papers, 1880s-1930s, include diaries, letters, photographs, and papers documenting the life and work of a female painter and social activist in the early 20th century.

Wollstonecraft, Mary, A vindication of the rights of woman: with strictures on political and moral subjects, 1796.

 

In addition, the Archives & Special Collections holds records documenting life on campus from 1888 to the present. A small portion of photographshistorical documents, and digitized material are available online. You can also browse archival and manuscript collections as well as rare books on Primo (limit the location to Archives & Special Collections on the right).

Data & Statistics

What's a primary source?

Primary sources are original, uninterpreted information.  Scholars analyze primary sources in order to answer research questions. Examples of primary sources vary by discipline.

Examples in the humanities:

  • a novel
  • a painting
  • a theatre performance

Examples in the social sciences:

  • a political, social, or economic theory
  • a dataset
  • the results of an experiment published in a peer-reviewed journal

Example in the sciences:

  • the results of an experiment published in a peer-reviewed journal

Selected Feature Films

Collins Library includes a growing collection of LGBTQ cinema on DVD. You can also request DVDs from SUMMIT and other libraries via ILL.

ARTstor

Artstor logo

Visual materials, including images, are examples of primary sources. There are many image collections in ARTstor that are pertinent to Gender Studies.  Including the Women's Studies featured group which "documents the history and depiction of women across world cultures, including images of women in a variety of domestic and professional roles, women's rights movements, and representations of famous female figures from history, art, and literature."

Learn more about ARTstor collections relevant to Women's Studies.

Archives & Special Collections Hours

Current hours:

Due to COVID-19 precautions, the Archives & Special Collections is offering virtual reference appointments. If you need assistance or would like to set up a virtual appointment, please email us at archives@pugetsound.edu.

A selection of digitized material from the Archives & Special Collections is available online 24/7.

Need Help?

This subject guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Katy!

Katy Curtis, Humanities Librarian
email: kcurtis@pugetsound.edu
Schedule an appointment
tel: (253) 879-3672
office: Collins Library 140

If you can't find Katy, remember there are several ways to get help with your research

For immediate assistance, connect to our 24/7 Ask a Librarian chat service.