Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GENDER & QUEER STUDIES: SUBJECT GUIDE: Articles

Starting points for research in Gender Studies.

Feminist Periodicals

Feminist Periodicals Logo

Feminist Periodicals is an open access repository of digitized contents pages of 150 academic journals and pop culture magazines for researchers and scholars to view what is currently being published in the field of Gender and Women's Studies.

Signs @ 40

Signs at 40 Logo

Signs@40 is a robust and interactive digital project that explores forty years of the journal Signs via topic modeling, editorial curation, an interactive cocitation graph, artwork, and commentaries.

Key Resource

Gender Studies Database

Gender Studies Database provides indexing and abstracts covering the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship. Essential subjects include gender inequality, masculinity, postfeminism and gender identity. Search for professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion & working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.

Additional Databases for Gender Studies

Because of the interdisciplinary nature of Gender Studies, there are many databases that it may be useful to utilize for your research. Listed here are just a few. Be sure to also check the subject pages for the disciplines whose approaches may provide unique insight into your topic.

Multidisciplinary Databases

These databases provide access to many journals in the field of Gender Studies, but they are limited in scope and coverage compared to subject databases. In most cases, it's better to search subject databases to identify articles, and then use Primo Search to access the materials in these collections.

What's a secondary source?

In secondary sources, authors analyze and interpret primary source materials. 

Secondary sources can be scholarly or popular.  Scholarly sources (sometimes called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" sources) are written by and for experts and typically include bibliographies and citations.  Popular sources are written for a general, non-expert audience and can be authored by anyone.

Tipasa: Interlibrary Loan

Tipasa logo

If your article is not available at Collins Library, you've got another option for getting it. Use Tipasa, our interlibrary loan service.

Tipasa is linked to your library account so you'll need to log in to use it.

Once you are logged in, either go directly to Tipasa and manually enter the information, or, if you're using a database, look for a shortcut link to automatically fill out the form, like this:

Interlibrary Loan Link

Allow at least a week for the article to come. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with a link to follow as soon as it's arrived.

Need Help?

This subject guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Katy!

Katy Curtis, Humanities Librarian
email: kcurtis@pugetsound.edu
Schedule an appointment
tel: (253) 879-3672
office: Collins Library 140

If you can't find Katy, remember there are several ways to get help with your research

For immediate assistance, connect to our 24/7 Ask a Librarian chat service.