Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Feature Films
Collins Library includes a growing collection of LGBTQ cinema on DVD. You can also request DVDs from SUMMIT and other libraries via ILL.
Call Me By Your Name by
Call Number: PS3601.C525 C35 2018 DVD Collection
Publication Date: 2017
In 1980s Italy, romance blossoms between a seventeen-year-old student and the older man hired as his father's research assistant. This coming-of-age romantic drama is based on the acclaimed novel by André Aciman.
Call Number: PS3613.C38625 M66 2017 DVD Collection
Publication Date: 2017
A timeless story of human connection and self-discovery, Moonlight chronicles the life of a young black man from childhood to adulthood as he struggles to find his place in the world while growing up in a rough neighborhood of Miami.
Call Number: PS3602 .A54 T3 2015 DVD Collection
Publication Date: 2015
Shot on an iPhone, this film follows a transgender sex worker and her best friend searching for the man who broke her heart.
Selected Documentary Films
The Archivettes by
Call Number: Z695.L48 A73 2018 DVD Collection
Publication Date: 2018
A feature-length documentary film about the Lesbian Herstory Archives and the personal lives of the women involved in it. The film provides a comprehensive look at the history of the group, the materials it protects and the challenges arising as the founders face their final years.
The Bro Code: How Contemporary Culture Creates Sexist Men by
Call Number: BF692.5 .B76 2011 DVD Collection
Publication Date: 2011
Filmmaker Thomas Keith takes aim at the forces in male culture that condition boys and men to dehumanize and disrespect women, and challenges young people to step up and fight back against the idea that being a real man means being sexist.
The Codes of Gender: Identity + Performance in Popular Culture by
Call Number: P96.S5 C6 2009 DVD Collection
Publication Date: 2009
Communication scholar Sut Jhally applies the late sociologist Erving Goffman's groundbreaking analysis of advertising to the contemporary commercial landscape in this provocative new film about gender as a ritualized cultural performance.
Generation M: Misongyny in Media and Culture by
Call Number: HQ1233 .G46 2008 DVD Collection
Publication Date: 2008
Keith looks specifically at misogyny and sexism in mainstream American media, exploring how negative definitions of femininity and hateful attitudes toward women get constructed and perpetuated at the very heart of our popular culture.
Killing Us Softly: Advertising's Image of Women by
Call Number: HF5827 .K555 2010 DVD Collection
Publication Date: 2010
In this update of the pioneering Killing us Softly series, Jean Kilbourne takes a fresh look at how advertising traffics in distorted and destructive ideals of femininity.
Paris is Burning by
Call Number: HQ76.2.U52 N535 2012 DVD Collection
Publication Date: 1990
The "unblinking behind-the-scenes story of the fashion-obsessed New Yorkers who created 'voguing' and drag balls, and turned these raucous celebrations into a powerful expression of fierce personal pride."
Screaming Queens: The Riot at Compton's Cafeteria by
Call Number: HQ76.8.U52 S34 2010 DVD Collection
Publication Date: 2010
Tells the little-known story of the first known act of collective, violent resistance to the social oppression of queer people in the United States - a 1966 riot in San Francisco's impoverished Tenderloin neighborhood, three years before the famous gay riot at New York's Stonewall Inn.
She's Beautiful When She's Angry by
Call Number: HQ1154 .S524 2014 DVD Collection
Publication Date: 2014
An essential documentary about the birth of the women's liberation movement. Beginning in the late 1960s, featuring never-seen before archival footage and new interviews this film tells the story of one of the most important social movements of the 20th century, bringing to light the efforts of lesser-known activists and grassroots organizations across the country who played a pivotal role in the struggle.
Straightlaced How Gender's Got Us All Tied Up by
Call Number: HQ1075.5.U6 S77 2011 DVD Collection
Publication Date: 2011
Meet 50 incredibly diverse students who take us on a powerful, intimate journey to see how popular pressures around gender and sexuality are shaping the lives of today's American teens. Demonstrates how gender-based expectations are deeply intertwined with homophobia, and also are impacted by race, ethnicity and class.
Transgender Tuesdays: A Clinic in the Tenderloin by
Call Number: RA564.9.T73 T723 2012 DVD/Video Collection
Publication Date: 2012
Chronicles the lives of 12 courageous people who came to the first-ever public health clinic in the US to offer full primary care to transgender people in San Francisco's gritty Tenderloin District. The warm narratives of these pioneering patients turn the harrowing places they have been into a testament of victory and hope.
The library has a film collection that includes documentaries and feature films related to many gender studies topics. Do a keyword search on your topic in Primo Search and choose "Video" (top menu) to see which films are available.
Other ways to use Advanced Search:
- Search by author/creator if you know the director's name
- Search by title if you know the film title
- Limit the Material Type to Film & Video
Streaming Media: Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic Video Online is a streaming video service, which provides access to a broad spectrum of educational and documentary content, spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
The following Channels provide a selection of documentaries and other videos on the topics of gender and sexuality hosted through AVON.
LGBT Studies in Video
A cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community.
Women's and Gender Studies Video Online
A collection of films and documentaries that address women's and gender studies topics.
Streaming Media: Kanopy
Kanopy is a streaming video service for libraries and educational institutions that provides library users, students, faculty, and staff access to a large collection of films.
Films streamed on Kanopy are provided to the Puget Sound community for classroom and educational purposes only. Films that have been licensed for use by the University of Puget Sound are immediately available on the Kanopy platform. If a film has not been licensed for use, you may submit a Kanopy request form and the library will consider the request.
Search for films by title, subject, keywords, or browse by subject. Register with Kanopy to utilize features such as playlists, clips, sharing, embedding, and creating a watch list for future viewing.
A selection of documentaries and other videos on the topics of gender and sexuality hosted through Kanopy.
A selection of documentaries for streaming on LGBTQ topics through Kanopy.