Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Additional Subject Databases
Gives users access to top educational publications. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education.
Professional Development Collection (Education)
Designed for professional educators, provides full-text of high quality education journals, including many peer-reviewed titles, it also contains educational reports.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Teacher Reference Center
Provides indexing and abstracts for peer-reviewed periodicals. Topics include: Assessment, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.
These e-journal collections provide access to many journals in the field of Education, but they are limited in scope and coverage compared to subject databases. In most cases, it's better to search subject databases to identify articles, and then use Primo Search to access the materials in these e-journal collections.
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Interdisciplinary database includes books and articles from scholarly publishers with focus on humanities and social science.
ERIC is the primary tool used by educators to find information related to all aspects of education
Produced by the Institute of Education Sciences of the United States Department of Education the database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and the Resources in Education Index. ERIC covers journals related to all aspects of education, and ERIC documents, which include curriculum guides, reports, and conference papers.
Interdisciplinary Databases (The Big Ones)
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest)
Provides access to multiple databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from many important social science journals
Academic Search Premier
This is a multidisciplinary database containing the full text of thousands of journals. Because Education topics are varied, and information comes from many disciplines, this is a very good tool for beginning research.
Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is a large aggregated database of periodical content. It features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources including: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, patents, legal opinions and federal & state court opinions.
What's a secondary source?
In secondary sources, authors analyze and interpret primary source materials.
Secondary sources can be scholarly or popular. Scholarly sources (sometimes called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" sources) are written by and for experts and typically include bibliographies and citations. Popular sources are written for a general, non-expert audience and can be authored by anyone.
This guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Andrea!
Social Sciences Liaison Librarian
tel: (253) 879-2875
office: Collins Library 141
Request an Appointment with Andrea