Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

POLITICS & GOVERNMENT: SUBJECT GUIDE: Primary Sources

Starting points for research in Politics & Government.

Primary Sources: Subject Collections

Archives & Special Collections Hours

The Archives & Special Collections is located on the second floor of the Collins Memorial Library.

Set up an appointment: We are open to researchers by appointment Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM. To make an appointment, email archives@pugetsound.edu

Stop by during Drop-In Hours: We also have drop-in hours Monday through Thursday from 12:00 to 3:00 PM. Appointments are not required during drop-in hours.

We look forward to assisting you!

Primary Sources in Politics & Government

A primary source in Politics & Government will depend on the context of your assignment.

Examples of primary sources include:

  • news & editorials
  • statistics & data
  • polling results
  • government documents
  • films and television programs
  • radio broadcasts
  • speeches
  • debates

Primary Sources: Documents

Streaming Media

Academic Video Online and Kanopy are streaming media services which provide access to a broad spectrum of educational and documentary content.

Puget Sound Archives & Special Collections, Politics & Government

The Archives & Special Collections collects, preserves, and makes available primary source material documenting life at the University as well as collections representing regional, national and international issues.

A small selection of material is listed below, for additional sources, please contact archives@pugetsound.edu.

The Homer T. Bone papers, 1903-1944, document Bone's political career, including his time in the U.S. Senate (1932-1944) as well as his role in the development of public electrical power in the Pacific Northwest, and regional politics.

The John Coffee papers, 1940-1952, contain Coffee's correspondence, speeches, photographs, campaign literature, press releases and scrapbooks. Coffee was a Tacoma resident and member of the U.S. House of Representatives for Washington State, 1937-1946.

Ellis, Elsi Vassdal, Al-Mutanabbi I, 2011.

What's a primary source?

Primary sources are original, uninterpreted information.  Scholars analyze primary sources in order to answer research questions. Examples of primary sources vary by discipline.

Examples in the humanities:

  • a novel
  • a painting
  • a theatre performance

Examples in the social sciences:

  • a political, social, or economic theory
  • a dataset
  • the results of an experiment published in a peer-reviewed journal

Example in the sciences:

  • the results of an experiment published in a peer-reviewed journal

Need help?

This guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you.  If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Andrea!

Andrea Klyn
Social Sciences Liaison Librarian
email: aklyn@pugetsound.edu
tel: (253) 879-2875
office:  Collins Library 141

Request an Appointment with Andrea