Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Full text newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press.
Focus is on local ethnic preses and their related arts, business, education, environment, history, journalism, political science and sociology news. Covers communities from across the US.
London Times Digital Archive
Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th century through the early 21st century, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment, and advertising.
Los Angeles Times Historical Newspaper (1881-1996)
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of the Los Angeles Times newspaper. Date coverage is 1881 to 1989.
New York Times Historical Newspaper
Includes full page images of the New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and the New York Times (1857-2007).
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
Current News Coverage
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national news sources including newspapers, wire services and broadcast transcripts. Nexis also covers regional newspapers, international news, and non-English language sources.
News & Newspapers (ProQuest)
Contains all of the news content provided to Puget Sound by ProQuest. Includes alternative, national, international, local and historical news.
Provides cover-to-cover full text for national (U.S.) newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post and The Washington Times. The database also contains selective full text for regional (U.S.) newspapers. Also includes international news sources including The Times (London), The Toronto Star and others.
New York Times (ProQuest)
Includes The New York Times; Late Edition (East Coast), New York Times Magazine, and New York Times Book Review. Featured is national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions and presidential press conference transcripts. Coverage begins in 1980.
Wall Street Journal
In-depth news coverage of national and international finance as well as coverage of hard news.
The simplest way to search for editorials is to add the term "editorials" to your keyword search. For instance, in the database Newspaper Source you can search: "panama canal" and editorial
Often databases will also provide pre-set limiters that can be chosen before you enter your search terms. In Newspaper Source you also could have chosen a Document Type limiter of Editorial. Then searched by the keywords "Panama Canal."
One of the best sources for editorials is Nexis Uni. Nexis covers many more newspapers than other resources. It's also a great source for foreign newspapers, both written in English and in other languages.
In Nexis choose to search "News" and combine your keywords with "editorials" or "opinions."
This guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Andrea!
Social Sciences Liaison Librarian
tel: (253) 879-2875
office: Collins Library 141
Request an Appointment with Andrea