Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Print Reference Resources
Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era, 1760-1850 by
Call Number: NX452.5.R64 E53 2004, v. 1-2, Print reference
Publication Date: 2004
This two-volume set explores the developments that influenced the profound changes in thought and sensibility during the second half of the eighteenth century and the first half of the nineteenth century. The Encyclopedia provides readers with a clear, detailed, and accurate reference source on the literature, thought, music, and art of the period, demonstrating the rich interplay of international influences and cross-currents at work; and to explore the many issues raised by the very concepts of Romantic and Romanticism.
Encyclopedia of the Scientific Revolution by
Call Number: Q125 .E53 2000 Print Reference
Publication Date: 2000
With coverage of the profound changes in the nature and practice of science in sixteenth- and seventeenth-century Europe, this comprehensive reference work addresses the broad sweep of individuals, ideas, and institutions that defined culture in this most influential age-when the modern perception of nature and of the universe and our place in it is said to have emerged.
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance by
Call Number: CB361 .E52 1999, v. 1-6, Print reference
Publication Date: 1999
Published in association with the Renaissance Society of America, this illustrated set treats the period of the Renaissance, from 1350 to 1650, encompassing Italy and the rest of Europe in the context of the broader world. The Encyclopedia contains entries on culture, literature, philosophy, religion, economics, politics, politics, science and the arts.
Recommended Starting Points
Arts and Humanities through the Eras by
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access.
Publication Date: 2005
Profiling milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music and religion from a specific period, each volume in this five-volume set helps students and researchers understand the various disciplines of the humanities in relation to each other, as well as to history and culture. An overview of the period and a chronology of major world events begin each volume. Nine chapters follow, covering the major branches of the humanities: architecture and design, dance, fashion, literature, music, philosophy, religion, theater and visual arts. Chapters end with significant primary documents from the period.
Volume 1: Ancient Egypt (2675 B.C.E.-332 B.C.E.)
Volume 2: Ancient Greece and Rome (1200 B.C.E.-476 C.E.)
Volume 3: Medieval Europe (814-1450)
Volume 4: Renaissance Europe (1300-1600)
Volume 5: The age of Baroque and Enlightenment (1600-1800)
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas by
Call Number: Click on title above for online access
Publication Date: 2004
Provides extensive entries on key concepts in intellectual history, ranging from aesthetics and authenticity to virtue ethics and yoga.
Oxford Art Online
Covers biographies, criticism, country surveys, artistic styles and movements, art forms, subject matter and iconography, and techniques.
Oxford Music Online
A great first step in the research process. Includes Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music.
Note: If the search box doesn't work, Puget Sound users may connect here
What's a tertiary source?
Tertiary sources are excellent starting points! They consist of information synthesized from primary and secondary sources. Examples include:
- Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Fact books
- Indexes, abstracts, bibliographies used to locate primary and secondary sources
These resources give you succinct overviews of your topic, explain scholarly arguments, point out interesting questions, and refer you to especially key sources.