Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Premier
General database covering scholarly, general interest, and news articles across all fields.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
The online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains over 750,000 records on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
Multidisciplinary coverage of all aspects of human impact to the environment.
Research in agricultural and applied economics.
International coverage of viticulture, enology, and related fields. Citations in German and English.
Major database for sociological literature; contains primarily scholarly work.
High-quality, interdisciplinary journal archive.
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
A web-based research solutions tool that provides access to data from licensed and public domain datasets within an easy to use interface.
Search EconLit and Political Science Complete for Articles
Interdisciplinary research often doesn't fit neatly into individual databases. Try using multiple databases to find valuable resources.
Recommended IPE Databases
EconLit with Full Text
Comprehensive index, including partial full-text, of journal articles, books, book reviews, working papers and dissertations in Economics and related fields.
Political Science Complete
Provides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles. PSC has a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers.
Indexes resources on public affairs and policy, with an international scope.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
Search IGO Websites
Searches across the websites of major IGO's including the UN, UNICEF, FAO, WFP, IMF, WTO, WHO, and the World Bank, to help you find information from these websites including news, reports, working papers, statistics & data, and more.
This guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Andrea!
Social Sciences Liaison Librarian
tel: (253) 879-2875
office: Collins Library 141
Request an Appointment with Andrea
What's a secondary source?
In secondary sources, authors analyze and interpret primary source materials.
Secondary sources can be scholarly or popular. Scholarly sources (sometimes called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" sources) are written by and for experts and typically include bibliographies and citations. Popular sources are written for a general, non-expert audience and can be authored by anyone.
Search Using Google Scholar
Finding News Articles
Newspaper and magazine articles can be helpful when delving into a new topic, or seeking recent developments on an issue.
Take a look at our news guide to find news articles through the library's subscriptions.