Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History 200 (Prof. Katherine Smith): Resources for The English Civil War

Research strategies and resources for students in History 200

Interlude: Evaluating Digital Projects

Before you and your group members dive into your research into the contexts of Herle's pamphlet, pause for a moment to interact with a different digital project, The Atlas of Early Printing.

  • Pay close attention to printing in England.  When does the technology arrive?  Where is it located?  What else do you notice?
  • How much research went into this project?
  • Does this digital project add to your understanding of the history of early modern printing in a way that a traditional book or journal article might not? Why or why not?

Early English Books Online (EEBO) is a full text, full image database of print materials published in the English language from 1473 to 1700.  Consult the library guide for EEBO for search tips.  For information on how to use EEBO in conjunction with the English Short Title Catalogue, see this page from the History 230 library guide.

Search Primo

Primo contains the records of books, archival holdings, DVDs and more in Collins Library and the other SUMMIT libraries, as well as a small selection of articles from multiple disciplines. 

Search for Articles

Databases will help you discover many more scholarly articles beyond what is in Primo.

Historical Abstracts is a subject-specific index that will help you find the most scholarship written by historians.

JSTOR and Project Muse are e-journal collections that will help you discover articles written by scholars from many different disciplines.

Print Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Print encyclopedias are located on the first floor of the library, just off of the Learning Commons.

Secondary Sources on the History of Printing

These books on the history of printing in Britain can be found in the main stacks.

Online Subject Collections

Use multiple subject encyclopedias as you research as a way of "triangulating" your  topic and theme.  For example, an entry on "printing" in the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation is going to have a different emphasis than one in the Encyclopedia of London.

Look carefully at the lists of suggested reading at the end of entries; these typically indicate scholarly secondary sources.

Sharing your Collections

RefWorks allows for sharing outside your institution as well as inside, however, each person you share your collection with will need a RefWorks account in order to view your research (which they can create for free!). You can share with up to 10 people per collection for free account holders or an unlimited number of RefWorks users if you have an Institutional account.

  1. Click the Share & Export icon  or the Sharing menu item to start
  1. Select the collection to be shared and the groups with whom you will share it.

  1. Type the email address of the person (add one at a time) and select the level of access for the person you're inviting:
    • Read – view items and read documents
    • Annotate – view items, read documents, and annotate documents
    • Modify – view/read/annotate documents, edit existing annotations, add documents, remove documents, and add a note to an item

  1. Optionally, add a personal note
  2. Click Share Collection

The person you've invited will get an email notification, and a notification inside RefWorks, where they can accept (or reject) the invitation. If the person doesn’t have a RefWorks account, they will be asked to create one.

Remember, when you share a collection any sub-collections are also shared.

 

Viewing a collection's sharing status

To view what collections you have shared, look for the sharing icon next to the collection name.

By selecting Sharing Settings from the menu, you can access the settings for your shared collection to modify them.

In the Sharing Settings you can also:

  • change the sharing from "private" to "institution" (which gives everyone in your institution access to your collection)
  • change individual access levels at any time after inviting someone
  • remove individuals from your collection by clicking the 'x' to the right of each address in the list