Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use Primo (see search box below) to find resources on your topic at Collins Library and beyond. Request books held by Summit libraries for delivery to Collins Library within 3-5 business days.
Ways to Search:
- Name of Artist, e.g., Kitagawa, Utamaro
- Movement or Style, e.g., Ukiyoe
- Time Period, e.g., Art, Japanese Edo Period , Art, Chinese 20th Century
- Art Form, e.g., Sculpture, Chinese; Screen Painting, Japanese
Also try these broader search terms. Copy and paste them into the Primo search box.
Tip:To find the location of books in the stacks, use the call number location chart.
- Art, Chinese
- Painting, Chinese
- Ink Painting, Chinese
- Landscape Painting, Chinese
- Scrolls, Chinese
- Calligraphy, Chinese
- Pottery, Chinese
- Sculpture, Chinese
- Art, Japanese
- Painting, Japanese
- Screen Painting, Japanese
- Landscape Painting, Japanese
- Wooden Engraving, Japanese
- Pottery, Japanese
- Wood-engraving, Japanese
- Color prints, Japanese
- Sculpture, Japanese
Encyclopedia of Ancient Asian Civilizations by
Call Number: Reference DS12 .H5 2004
Publication Date: 2004-03-01
Covering ancient Asia from the Jomon culture in Japan in approximately 11,000 BCE through to the Cambodian empires that lasted until the 15th century, this encyclopedia covers civilizations that have thus far been treated only marginally in English literature.
The Illustrated Dictionary of Symbols in Eastern and Western Art by
Call Number: Reference (N7740 .H35 1994 )
Publication Date: 1995-02-14
Includes the art of Egypt, the ancient Near East, Christian and classical Europe, India and the Far East. Hall explores the language of symbols in art, showing how paintings, drawings, and sculpture express many shades of meaning from simple, everyday hopes and fears to the profoundest philosophical and religious aspirations. The book explains and interprets symbols from many cultures, and over 600 illustrations clarify and complement the text.
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online is a great starting point for background information. This tool covers biographies, criticism, country surveys, artistic styles and movements, art forms, subject matter and iconography, and techniques.
Note: Use of this resource is limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Tip: Search by country
The library has access to a growing collection of eBooks which you can discover through Primo. When the results of your search are displayed, you can refine your results to eBooks. Keep in mind that you only have access to eBooks for Collins Library.
Here is one example:
A Companion to Asian Art and Architecture
Call Number: eBook
Presents a collection of 26 original essays from top scholars in the field that explore and critically examine various aspects of Asian art and architectural history. Brings together top international scholars of Asian art and architecture Represents the current state of the field while highlighting the wide range of scholarly approaches to Asian Art Features work on Korea and Southeast Asia, two regions often overlooked in a field that is often defined as India-China-Japan.