Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ARTH 278: Asian Art : Articles

This course guide is a starting point for research about Asian art.

Database Search Tips

When search databases, keep these techniques in mind.

Quotation marks search for an exact phrase.

 "Chinese art"  finds results with that exact phrase.

   Without the quotation marks, you may also get Chinese and art

Add more words when you want to narrow your search. Use the word AND to connect different concepts.

 "ink painting" and calligraphy

Use OR to find related terms.

  pottery or ceramics

Use an asterisk * to find variant word endings. Be careful not to shorten your word too much, because this can bring back results that are not relevant.

paint* retrieves paint, paints, painters, painting, etc.

Examples of Asian Art Journals

Note: Some titles are electronic while others are print only.

Asianart.com

Ars Orientalis

Journal of Asian Studies
Note: Backfile is available through JStor

Artibus Asiae
Note: Backfile is available through JStor

Oriental Art

Arts of Asia

Orientations

  Tip: Check the Primo  for more information about these titles.

 

Search Jstor

 

JSTOR
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

Art Related Databases

Also Try These Databases

Bibliography of Asian Studies 

The online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains over 750,000  records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.  The BAS includes citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings and anthologies.

Project Muse

A collection of full text, scholarly, humanities and social sciences journals.

Research Library

Research Library features the full text of a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers covering all academic subject areas.