Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SSI1-120: Hagia Sophia: From the Emperor's Church to the Sultan's Mosque: Books & Articles

This guide provides a starting point for doing research. It provides a list of links and information related to the course.

Search Primo

Use Primo to find resources on your topic at Collins Library and beyond. Primo searches for books here and at other nearby libraries, and will also find some articles. 

Enter a variety of keywords that describe your topic. When you find a relevant source, view the full record and search one of the subject headings. Primo will find sources that share the same subject heading.

Try these suggested subject headings. Copy and paste into the search box below.

Ayasofya Müzesi 

Church architecture -- Byzantine Empire

Mosaics, Byzantine -- Turkey -- Istanbul

 Istanbul (Turkey) -- Buildings, structures, etc

Orthodox Eastern Church -- In art

Art, Byzantine

Reading a Call Number

To find print books in the library collection, you need to know how to read a call number. View this short videois an edited version created by Douglas College in New Westminster BC.

Call Numbers to Browse

If you're interested in a broad art topic, or would like to browse for inspiration, try one of these Library of Congress call letters. The Ns are located on the third floor, while CC is on the lower level.
  • N: Visual Arts
  • NA: Architecture
  • NB: Sculpture
  • NC: Drawing, Design, Illustration
  • ND: Painting
  • NE: Print media
  • NK: Decorative Arts
  • NX: Arts in general
  • CC: Archaeology

 

Locations of Books
 
  • New books are located in the Library lobby on the main floor and are in call number order.
  • Print Reference books are on the first floor across from the Learning Commons area.
  • Book stacks: Consult the library map; look for location posters; or ask any staff member for help!
Call Number Location Chart
 
The call number location chart identifies the floor where the call number may be found in the book stacks.

Tipasa: Interlibrary Loan

If your article is not available at Collins Library, you've got another option to getting it. Use Tipasa, our interlibrary loan service.

You'll need to set up an account the first time you use it and log in subsequently.

Once you have an account, either go directly to Tipasa and manually enter the information, or, if you're using a database, look for a shortcut link to automatically fill out the form, like this:

Interlibrary Loan Link

Allow at least a week for the article to come. If your  article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with a link to follow as soon as it's arrived. If it's delivered in paper, you'll receive it right in your campus mailbox.

General Database Search Tips

Try these strategies to become a better, more efficient searcher -- and help you find articles that you can actually use:

  • Build your search vocabulary -- keep a running list of key words, phrases, concepts, synonyms, and any related terms or ideas that you find.
  • Use advanced search features -- narrow your search with "AND," expand your search with "OR," or search in specified fields (i.e., author, title, publication, abstract).
  • Use search limits -- control the types of results you get (academic journals? language?) and how they are displayed (date? relevance?) so that you're only looking at results you can use.
  • Try multiple searches and evaluate -- try to figure out why you got the results you did, and adjust your search until you get closer to results you can use.
  • Use database descriptors -- once you find an article that looks good, see what descriptors or "subject headings" were assigned to it in the database. You can use these to search only for articles that have the same descriptors attached.

Search Jstor

 

JSTOR
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

Arts & Humanities Databases