Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sound Writing is the official writing handbook on campus, written by student writing advisors and specifically tailored to the needs of Puget Sound students and their faculty.
In addition to supporting the development of successful academic writing skills, Sound Writing also includes sections on research methods, writing in the disciplines, and more.
The preliminary edition of Sound Writing provides help with three citation styles: MLA, APA, and Chicago (notes & bibliography).
Current Edition: August 2017
Start with these sources about academic integrity, but don't hesitate to ask a librarian or your instructor if you have further questions.
Quick Guides to Commonly Used Citation Styles
Your librarians at Collins Library have prepared two-page overviews--with examples--for several commonly used citation styles.
The citation style you use typically depends on the academic discipline involved. Remember to always check with your professors first to find out which citation style they would like you to use!
Examples from the American Medical Association.
Examples from the American Psychological Association.
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Provides access to the complete contents of the 17th, 16th, and 15th editions of the Chicago Manual of Style plus extra tools such as sample correspondence, proofreaders’ marks, and a quick guide to citation, and the Citation Quick Guide.
Knowledge Management Tools
Collins Library supports two robust knowledge management tools:
RefWorks, an entirely web-based product; and
Zotero, an extension that lives in your browser.
Why should you use a knowledge management tool? There are both practical and more conceptual advantages:
- You can easily save bibliographic information about all of your sources in a single place
- You can generate bibliographies in dozens of citation styles
- You can organize and re-organize your sources to fit any project
- Over time, you will build a personal library of sources that will make it easier to reflect on and make connections between all of the research you have done for your separate classes, which is a key goal of a liberal arts education
- You will have developed an impressive bibliography that you can continue to consult and add to when you are in graduate or professional school or are in your first job after college
Need help with citations?
If you have any questions about when or how to cite the sources you are using, please don't hesitate to ask any librarian! We're here to help you!
There are several additional reliable and thorough guides to citation styles available online: