Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Library of Congress Subject Headings
Subject Databases for History 344
These subject databases are your best bets for finding the scholarly articles and books (or essays in books) on your research topic.
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present. Does not include United States and Canadian history, which is covered in America: History and Life.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Indexes Western-language scholarly work on all subjects (especially in the humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Political Science Complete
Scholarly articles from a political science perspective.
In most cases, it's better to search subject databases to identify articles. However, if your research topic has a strong multidisciplinary flavor, then these two collections may help you identify scholarly articles that you'd otherwise miss.
JSTOR is an online archive of select scholarly journals. Because it is an archive, current content from journals is not included. The "embargo" on current content ranges from one to ten years, depending on the journal.
Project Muse provides full-text access to journals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage of journals typically begins in the late 1990s or later.