Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives & Special Collections: Other Archives and Special Collections

This guide details the Archives & Special Collections at the University of Puget Sound.

Archives & Special Collections Hours

Spring 2020 update:

The Archives & Special Collections is currently unable to host in-person researchers. If you need assistance or would like to set up a virtual appointment, please email us at archives@pugetsound.edu.

A small selection of digitized material from the Archives & Special Collections is available online 24/7.

Local Sources

In addition to the Archives & Special Collections at Puget Sound, there are a number of local institutions with their own Archives & Special Collections.  If you would like help or advice on visiting these collections, please contact us.

Travel / Visiting Scholar Grants

Provided below are small, short-term grants and fellowships offered for those interested in using rare and unique material for their research.

Available to all applicants:

Available to postdoctoral scholars and graduate students:

  • Lewis Walpole Library, Yale University, Fellowship & Travel Grant, the Library's strengths are 18th century (mainly British) material, including prints, manuscripts, drawings, rare books, and paintings.
  • Newberry Library, Short-term Fellowships, are restricted to postdoctoral scholars and PhD candidates.  As well as a few general fellowships, specific fellowships are offered for those in the following areas: women of American Indian heritage, music and musicology, members of the American Society for Environmental History, members of the American Society for 18th Century Studies, documentary editing, early modern and Renaissance studies, history of cartography, etc.
  • Eberly Family Special Collections Library, Penn State University, Research Travel Awards, these support research in any topic represented in the collections as well as a specific award for those working on women writers.
  • Hagley Museum and Library, Research Grants and Fellowships, the collections document interaction between business and the cultural, social, and political dimensions of society from the late 18th century to the present.
  • UCLA Library, Special Collections Short-term Research Fellowships, UCLA offers a number of fellowships targeted to specific areas of study, including the history of medicine and life sciences, contemporary music, and Medieval and Renaissance books and manuscripts.  A small number of general awards are offered to use the UCLA collections, which strenghts include the humanities and social sciences, medicine, life and physical sciences, visual and performing arts, and UCLA history.
  • St. Andrews University Library, Visiting Scholarships, support use of the collections.  St. Andrews has an especially rich collection in History of Science, Theology and Church History, Literary Studies and Photography.  In addition to a substantial collection of incunabula and early printed books, the library has a significant eighteenth-century collection dating from its period as a copyright library (1710-1836).  The University archives also include an exceptional collection of 15th -16th Century materials relating to Fife and to the university and city of St Andrews.
  • National Sporting Library & Museum, John H. Daniels Fellowship, one fellowship each year will be awarded for a topic exploring the intersection of field sports with the evolution of conservation in the disciplines of history, literature, journalism, art history, anthropology, area studies, and history of sport.

Need help?

This subject guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. 

If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact us:  archives@pugetsound.edu