Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Asian American Playwrights by
Call Number: PS338.A74 A9 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Alphabetically arranged entries provide biographical, critical, and bibliographical information about 52 Asian American playwrights.
Listed below is a small sampling of background sources. Search Primo to find additional titles.
Contemporary African American Women Playwrights by
Call Number: PS338.N4 C66 2007
Publication Date: 2007-12-27
Contemporary African American Women Playwrights is the first critical volume to explore the contexts and influences of these writers, and their exploration of black history and identity through a wealth of diverse, courageous and visionary dramas.
International Dictionary of Theatre by
Call Number: PN2035 .I49 1992
Publication Date: 1992-02-01
Volume 1: Plays focuses on 600 of the world's most significant plays, with an authoritative essay on each play and more than 300 photographs. Volume 2: Playwrights contains biographical and bibliographical information and essays on 485 playwrights. Volume 3: Actors, Directors and Designers, features a capsule biography, descriptions: of roles and theatre productions and bibliographic information on 300 entrants.
The Playwright's Art by
Call Number: PS352 .P57 1995
Publication Date: 1994
This collection contains in-depth original and lively interviews with fifteen of America's leading contemporary playwrights--Edward Albee, Robert Anderson, Alice Childress, John Guare, A. R. Gurney, Beth Henley, Henry David Hwang, Larry L. King, Jerome Lawrence, Terrence McNally, Ntozake Shange, Neil Simon, Jean-Claude van Itallie, Wendy Wasserstein, and Lanford Wilson.
World of the Author
This information explores the life of the playwright and experiences that may have influenced his/her work.
When doing research on the playwright, look for information about:
- the playwright's influences, life experiences, dominant themes
- social, political, philosophical, and moral attitudes of the day
Search the Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center is a full-text database of author biographies, selected literary criticism and reviews, and topic overviews. Some literary texts are also available. If you're not sure where to start with an author or specific literary text, the LRC can help you get your foot in the door! Use LRC and the other resources on this page to help you find background information, approach subjects that are new to you, or put a text or author in a larger perspective.
Literature Criticism Online
Literature Criticism Online includes overviews by topic (e.g.,Greek mythology), author (e.g., Marlowe), and and title (e.g., Volpone), as well as excerpts from articles, books, and essays written by scholars.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
Contains the complete texts of many Oxford companions, encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference titles in a fully indexed, cross-searchable database. Included in addition to articles are images, maps, timelines, bibliographies, photographs and much more.
MLA International Bibliograpy
MLA International Bibliography
The key database for identifying scholarly books, essays, articles, and dissertations on modern literature in all languages. Also covers cultural studies, folklore, film studies, and linguistics.
Search the Catalog for Books
Catalog Search Tips
- Search the playwright's name for biographies, autobiographies, collected letters, and general studies.
- Do both an author and subject search in the catalog.
- Also try a broader subject search, such as:
- Dramatists, American -- 20th century -- Biography