Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Our World and the Play
This area includes interaction among the worlds of the play, the author, and the audience.
When doing researching about the world of the audience, look for information about:
The general character of society
- Example: An American audience in the 1990s may be concerned with the state of the economy, racial tensions, the assertion of family values, AIDS, and the protection of the environment.
The variable nature of any specific audience at a play
- Examples: white middle class, Generation X, feminist, or conservative
- Contemporary events that are comparable to those in the world of the play
- Example: A parallel can be drawn between the issue of corporate responsibility in Arthur Miller's "All My Sons" and the manufacturer of the unsafe cars by the auto industry such as the Chevrolet Corvair by General Motor in the 1960s.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Access to over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
Start your research for articles about our world and the world of the play with these databases.
Academic Search Premier
This is a multi-disciplinary database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
New York Times Historical Newspaper
Covering national and international news this includes full page images of the New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and the New York Times (1857-2006).
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States covering the years 1890 to 1982.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
American Decades Primary Sources (1900-1999)
Cross-disciplinary source spanning the 20th century. It includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from each decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.
For books about national identity, try the following search terms:
- national characteristics [nationality]
- national characteristics American
- national characterisics, Chinese
- national characteristics, French
- national characteristics, Mexican
- naitonal characteristics, Russian