Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Analysis of play’s contribution to literature with an emphasis on:
ideas, language and style, character development
When doing research on drama criticism, look for:
- Critical sources by the playwright
- Critical sources about the playwright
Good starting points include:
- The preface of a published play
- Interviews, commentary, and analysis published in newspapers, magazines, and journals,
- General studies of playwrights in books and chapters of books found in Primo
- See, for example, Shakespeare, William 1564 1616 Criticism And Interpretation; English drama--Early modern Elizabethan, 1500-1600
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
MLA International Bibliography
The key database for identifying scholarly books, essays, articles, and dissertations on modern literature in all languages. Also covers cultural studies, folklore, film studies, and linguistics.
Literature Criticism Online
Literature Criticism Online includes overviews by topic (e.g.,Greek mythology), author (e.g., Marlowe), and and title (e.g., Volpone), as well as excerpts from articles, books, and essays written by scholars.
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Search this fulltext source for book and journal content.
Interdisciplinary database includes books and articles from scholarly publishers with focus on humanities and social science.
Sources, Influences & Analogues
Sources, Influences, and analogues, are explorations of those materials that helped provide a basis for the play, that influenced its development, or that share similar attributes, qualities, or characteristics.
Begin your search with Primo which has subject terms that include sources and influences.
- Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 Sources
- Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616 Influence
Another good starting point is MLA Bibliography
- Suzan-Lori Parks and sources and Nathaniel Hawthorne
- Oscar Wilde and influence and Ding Xilin