Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
News aggregators collect and organize web content such as online newspapers, blogs, podcasts, and video blogs in one location for easy viewing.
Computer-generated news service that aggregates headlines from news sources worldwide and groups similar stories together, displaying them according to each reader's personalized interests.
To search for words in the headline, use
allintitle:keyword. For example:
- Bing News
Top News and current events from world, national, and local news sources from newspapers and broadcast news
Newsworthy photos of national and international events; click on the archival images tab for historical images
Reuters News Agency
An international multimedia news agency based in London that employs journalists and photojournalists around the world
Photos in the news; includes historical photos from CNN's archives
Includes the Magnum Photo Collection, which contains more than 100,000 photographs from the Magnum photojournalism agency
Browse Collection to find Magnum
Life Photo Archive
historical photos from Life Magazine
Do a keyword search and check the box to search all issues
Library of Congress Print & Photographs Online Catalog
The collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
Digital Public Library of America
A portal of items from archives, libraries, and museums. Limit by image.
A Sound Past chronicles through historic photographs the people, buildings, events, athletics, and campus environment that make the University of Puget Sound such a unique place.
Search for a Specific Newspaper
Use the Primo search box on the library homepage. Go to advanced search. Change the drop down menu from any field to title.Type the newspaper title and search. If we do have the newspaper, it will show up as either in print, online, or both.
To find the context of an issue or get ideas for a topic, start with these sources.
Reports explore a single issue in the news in depth each week. Reports include an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. Subjects include health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Access to Opposing Viewpoints in Context will no longer be provided by the Collins Memorial Library after June 25, 2021.
Full-text collection of news, opinion, reference, and academic journal articles designed to provide a variety of perspectives on controversial issues.
Collection of the encyclopedias, with an emphasis on the social sciences
Provides full text access to over 100 encyclopedias and other electronic reference sources from a variety of publishers. Install and set up the Gale app to access any Gale content from your mobile device
Fulltext Newspaper Databases
By Daniel R. Blume from Orange County, California, USA - A stack of newspapers, CC BY-SA 2.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=6699783
New York Times (nytimes.com)
Full and unlimited access to all of the content on The New York Times web site. Users must register and log in. Once you’ve registered for an account, which you must do from within the campus network (i.e. on-campus), you may “log in” to that account from anywhere, anytime.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Access to over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
Los Angeles Times
One of the largest metropolitan newspapers in the U.S. The Times' is the largest news gathering operation in California. Each issue of every newspaper is indexed thoroughly, giving access to top news stories, and detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture. Even such items as editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries, and letters to the editor from well-known people are indexed.
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Full text of 12 newspapers, including the New York Times, Christian Science Monitor, Wall St. Journal, and Los Angeles Times.
A full text database comprised of articles from alternative and independent press newspapers, magazines and journals.
Focus is on ethnic area studies, and related arts, business, education, environment, history, journalism, political science and sociology news. Some Spanish language sources are available.
Scanned copies of the campus newspaper from the 1890s to the present.