Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These e-journal collections provide access to many journals in multiple disciplines, but they are more limited in coverage compared to subject databases. For example, JSTOR is an archive and does not provide full-text access to current issues of journals. In most cases, it's better to search subject databases to identify articles.
JSTOR is an online archive of select scholarly journals. Because it is an archive, current content from journals is not included. The "embargo" on current content ranges from one to ten years, depending on the journal.
Project Muse provides full-text access to journals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage of journals typically begins in the late 1990s or later.
Not sure where to start?
These databases are multidisciplinary and offer wide range of scholarly and popular journals.
ATLA Religion Database
ATLA Religion is the primary database for researching topics in religion.
Additional Databases for Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Multidisciplinary index of scholarly books and articles related to Asia.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Supplements the sources found in ATLA and Philosopher's Index.
Especially useful for discovering Western behavioral science approaches to Buddhism.
Useful especially for finding comparisons of Buddhist theories of mind with Western philosophical systems.
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present. Does not include United States and Canadian history, which is covered in America: History and Life.
ILLiad: Interlibrary Loan
If your article is not available at Collins Library, you've got another option to getting it. Use ILLiad, our interlibrary loan service.
You'll need to set up an account the first time you use it and log in subsequently.
Once you have an account, either go directly to ILLiad and manually enter the information, or, if you're using a database, look for a shortcut link to automatically fill out the form, like this:
Allow at least a week for the article to come. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with a link to follow as soon as it's arrived. If it's delivered in paper, you'll receive it right in your campus mailbox.