Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Kurt Wall's Set Design for In the Next Room by Sarah Ruhl
In the Next Room Technical Drawing for the Givings' Living Room by Kurt Walls
Design Elements for Set
- Ceiling treatment
- Lighting fixtures
- Window covering
- Floor treatment
- Side table
- Single seat
- Wall treatment
Sources for Set Design
There are many types of sources you can use to find images for set design.
- Books about interior design, art, architecture, photography, furniture, etc.
- Digital image archives
- Museum websites, works of art, "period rooms"
- Illustrated magazines and journals
- Retail catalogs
- Interior design websites
- Online suppliers for doors, windows, fabrics, wallpaper, hardware, millwork, etc.
Analyze the Play
As you explore the world of the play, think about these questions for your set design.
About the Play
These sources help you establish basic facts about the play. Pay particular attention to the time period, location, and nationality.
Oxford Reference Online
contains the complete texts of over 200 Oxford companions, encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference titles in a fully indexed, cross-searchable database. Included in addition to articles are images, maps, timelines, bibliographies, photographs and much more.
Literature Resource Center
Substantive biographical essays on more than 130,000 authors, providing insights into life and times, works, and critical reception.
International Dictionary of Theatre v. 1 Plays by
Call Number: Collins Library Reference PN2035 .I49 1992 v. 1 Plays
Publication Date: 1992-02-01
The International Dictionary of Theatre is a three-volume work, international and historical in scope, covering the theatre from the festivals of ancient Greece to the productions, plays, players, directors and designers of the modern stage. The 3 volumes comprise 1500 entries, selected by an international advisory board.
Liaison Librarian Information